Newport Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I made this recipe with a 50oz can of clams from Costso and used fish broth instead of clam juice. I also added 1/2 lb of diced bacon and 1/4 cup of dry red wine. I made it for a large gathering and people couldn't get enough of it. I served it with homemade garlic croutons on top( 3 on each bowl) guests said it wasby far the best clam chowder they had ever had. It was so good I had to make itagain the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
About as close as I can get to San Francisco (I know it's not New England but...) clam chowder at home in the desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Very, very good, though I felt like it was missing something. I think I'll add celery to the onion saute next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This was my first attempt at clam chowder - very easy to make. My husband says "it's a keeper"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Amazing! No need for salt and pepper or any other seasonings. I did use canned clams and had to use a cup of flour to thicken but one of my pickiest guests took some home with her!!! Of course she only gave it a 4.9999999999999.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirksey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
As written, this would be very bland, however this is quite tasty with the addition of bacon. Don't cut back on the clam juice though or it won't have the underlying clam taste, regardless of how many actual clams you toss in. I mis-read the recipe and was 1 bottle short on the juice and it was quite noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRTW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Awesome chowder...try to use fresh clams vs canned if you can and don't forget that little bit of fresh dill at the end. I'm from Rhode Island so have had my share of great chowder and this is right up there with the best! Enjoy! Oh btw, the only thing I added was about a TSP of diced salt pork into the butter and onion saute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Super good chowder. I am from Newport and clam chowder is a big deal around there. I made it according to the recipe and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by otctroy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I made this recipe without reading any of the reviews, but the basic ingredients and procedures were in line with how I usually make chowder.... loved it! I'm not sure if I used exact amounts listed (I've never tried to measure a quart of shucked clams) but I used a 51oz can of clams from Costco and added about 2 cups of water. I added three stalks of celery to the onions and butter and instead of 3 cups of 1/2 and 1/2 I used 2 cups fat free milk and 1 cup 1/2 and 1/2. Still really creamy and good. My family loved it! Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Fantastic! I like to "tweak" recipes - not this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States