Newport Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
As written, this would be very bland, however this is quite tasty with the addition of bacon. Don't cut back on the clam juice though or it won't have the underlying clam taste, regardless of how many actual clams you toss in. I mis-read the recipe and was 1 bottle short on the juice and it was quite noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRTW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Awesome chowder...try to use fresh clams vs canned if you can and don't forget that little bit of fresh dill at the end. I'm from Rhode Island so have had my share of great chowder and this is right up there with the best! Enjoy! Oh btw, the only thing I added was about a TSP of diced salt pork into the butter and onion saute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Super good chowder. I am from Newport and clam chowder is a big deal around there. I made it according to the recipe and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by otctroy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I made this recipe without reading any of the reviews, but the basic ingredients and procedures were in line with how I usually make chowder.... loved it! I'm not sure if I used exact amounts listed (I've never tried to measure a quart of shucked clams) but I used a 51oz can of clams from Costco and added about 2 cups of water. I added three stalks of celery to the onions and butter and instead of 3 cups of 1/2 and 1/2 I used 2 cups fat free milk and 1 cup 1/2 and 1/2. Still really creamy and good. My family loved it! Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Fantastic! I like to "tweak" recipes - not this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Thank you! FINALLY, the recipe I've been looking for! The BEST clam chowder hands down. I use bottled clam juice & canned chopped clams instead. When I make this it never lasts, a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
The absolute BEST recipe I have tried yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Aumsville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Spectacular! I was nervous while making it because I never tried to make clam chowder before. We devoured the soup! My boyfriend said it was better than Progresso! Haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoga Chick

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I am a fair cook, but I have never made anything quite this excellent. Have had many Clam Chowders in and about New England. This is by far the best ever! John, South Carolina
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I was expecting more clam taste. Next time I will use canned clams to see if they have a stronger taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States