Newport Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This was a delicious EASY recipe. I added an extra can of clams and used day old baked potatoes. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheCambodianCook
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is thee best clam chowder on this site. However, I recommend not substituting fresh clams for cans (including juice). I used cans and we couldn't even taste the clam flavor. Definitely will use fresh clams next time. It has the right texture and consistency. Superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I wasn't too sold on this after sampling it right away after I made it, but when we ate it the next day it was fantastic. I would definitely recommend letting it sit overnight, as the flavors really seemed to come together nicely after doing so. There is a local restaurant that my family has always said has the best clam chowder, but we all agreed this one surpassed it. A nice, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This is THE BEST clam chowder I've ever had. I've made it for Christmas Eve dinner the past two years, and everyone loves it! I triple or even quadruple the amount of dill, I just keep adding until I feel it has enough, such a unique flavor for this chowder. I also use 3 6.5oz cans minced clams instead of fresh, and it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Great recipe. I doubled this recipe and make a few changes. I did half butter and half bacon for the fat, nad I used canned chopped clams(2x 51oz) undrained for the clams and clam juice. I also used canned cooked potatoes, drained. Just a few changes to make it go easier/faster. It turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Amazing recipe!!! I went to the Chowderfest in Newport this year (2008) and this is recipe trumps the winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Fed it to a roomful of rugged Alaskan men and got lots of grunts of approval! I used 2 cans of clams and 1.5 pounds of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIA22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Between all the clam juice (6 bottles) and the canned clams (5 cans) This became a pretty pricey chowder. Easy and delicious though. I added a few extra potatoes, a few cups of veggie broth and sharp cheddar cheese to the final product (sprinkled on each bowl) and fed 12 hungry adults and 5 kids under 5 with it. Home Made Sourdough bread topped it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This came out great and everyone loved it. One thing that I did, was cut the clams down a bit and put in some Shrimp & Scallops, it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was soo good I loved it but I did add some dried veggitable broth, it gave it more taste, also I doubled the aumount of soup and my husband said this is the best he ever ate 5+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States