Newport Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Very Very GOOD! Hubby said, it was the best Clam Chowder he's ever had! YAY! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This is, without a doubt, the BEST clam chowder ever! And I didn't even use fresh clams! Instead I used 6 8-oz cans of chopped clams with clam juice already in it. I like my chowder a bit thicker, so I used the same amount of flour, 1 small onion, reduced the half and half to 2 cups and potatoes to approximately 6 smallish-sized ones. Makes plenty for 2 with lots of leftovers. I've been making it this way for years now, and everyone who has tried it swears its the best NE Clam Chowder they have tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Cheng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This was a delicious EASY recipe. I added an extra can of clams and used day old baked potatoes. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheCambodianCook
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is thee best clam chowder on this site. However, I recommend not substituting fresh clams for cans (including juice). I used cans and we couldn't even taste the clam flavor. Definitely will use fresh clams next time. It has the right texture and consistency. Superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I wasn't too sold on this after sampling it right away after I made it, but when we ate it the next day it was fantastic. I would definitely recommend letting it sit overnight, as the flavors really seemed to come together nicely after doing so. There is a local restaurant that my family has always said has the best clam chowder, but we all agreed this one surpassed it. A nice, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This is THE BEST clam chowder I've ever had. I've made it for Christmas Eve dinner the past two years, and everyone loves it! I triple or even quadruple the amount of dill, I just keep adding until I feel it has enough, such a unique flavor for this chowder. I also use 3 6.5oz cans minced clams instead of fresh, and it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Great recipe. I doubled this recipe and make a few changes. I did half butter and half bacon for the fat, nad I used canned chopped clams(2x 51oz) undrained for the clams and clam juice. I also used canned cooked potatoes, drained. Just a few changes to make it go easier/faster. It turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Amazing recipe!!! I went to the Chowderfest in Newport this year (2008) and this is recipe trumps the winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Fed it to a roomful of rugged Alaskan men and got lots of grunts of approval! I used 2 cans of clams and 1.5 pounds of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIA22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Between all the clam juice (6 bottles) and the canned clams (5 cans) This became a pretty pricey chowder. Easy and delicious though. I added a few extra potatoes, a few cups of veggie broth and sharp cheddar cheese to the final product (sprinkled on each bowl) and fed 12 hungry adults and 5 kids under 5 with it. Home Made Sourdough bread topped it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States