Newport Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
I always thought making clam chowder is complicated therefore I never tried it, but since my husband always comment how tasty his mother makes clam chowder I thought I give it a try. Not only was this recipe easy to make, but it was very delicous. My husband loved it. Like other I substitute with can whole clams all three cans of them. Got to love those clams!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
Excellent recipe, both as written and with scallops substituted for the clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I've tried making clam chowder using many different recipes and this is the best recipe I have ever used. From now on it's the only recipe for clam chowder I will use. I substituted fat free half and half and it was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
THIS CHOWDER IS GREAT, JUST WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR. NOT TO THICK AND NOT TO THIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
This was the BEST chowder I have ever had (and I have had chowder from up and down both coasts). TRY THIS CHOWDER you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
My Fiancee and I (Mostly him, I had him peel the potatoes) made this for Super Bowl Sunday in which our team the NE Patriots won!!! The chowder was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
GREAT!!!It was very easy and wonderful. The dill kind of freaked me out because it wasnt what I am used to. But it really made the recipe. Thank you Dee for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sonoma, California, USA
Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Great Recipe! I did not have extra clam juice , other than from my fresh clams and so I used some chicken stock instead. Also instead of half and half I used skim milk, still as creamy and tasty. Although I did not have any dill on hand, the soup was wonderful. This will by the recipe I use from now on!! For sure a once a month meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
Rave reviews from my family, this one's a keeper! Added a little Old Bay Seasoning and some celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nola

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States