Newport Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2002
Excellent recipe, both as written and with scallops substituted for the clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
This was the BEST chowder I have ever had (and I have had chowder from up and down both coasts). TRY THIS CHOWDER you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
I always thought making clam chowder is complicated therefore I never tried it, but since my husband always comment how tasty his mother makes clam chowder I thought I give it a try. Not only was this recipe easy to make, but it was very delicous. My husband loved it. Like other I substitute with can whole clams all three cans of them. Got to love those clams!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Great Recipe! I did not have extra clam juice , other than from my fresh clams and so I used some chicken stock instead. Also instead of half and half I used skim milk, still as creamy and tasty. Although I did not have any dill on hand, the soup was wonderful. This will by the recipe I use from now on!! For sure a once a month meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
Rave reviews from my family, this one's a keeper! Added a little Old Bay Seasoning and some celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
THIS CHOWDER IS GREAT, JUST WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR. NOT TO THICK AND NOT TO THIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
My Fiancee and I (Mostly him, I had him peel the potatoes) made this for Super Bowl Sunday in which our team the NE Patriots won!!! The chowder was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
GREAT!!!It was very easy and wonderful. The dill kind of freaked me out because it wasnt what I am used to. But it really made the recipe. Thank you Dee for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sonoma, California, USA
Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I've tried making clam chowder using many different recipes and this is the best recipe I have ever used. From now on it's the only recipe for clam chowder I will use. I substituted fat free half and half and it was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nola

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States