Newport Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This was my first time making clam chowder and I was impressed. I prefer the chowder to be just a little thicker, so next time I will put a can of cream of potato soup in there. I also added about a half cup of shredded carrots, and I used 4 jars of clam juice and one can of chicken broth, plus two cans of baby clams, undrained. Over all, the flavor was wonderful (even better the next day). I will absolutely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I'm sorry to say that I didn't have the dillweed this recipe called for, so I made it without -- It was still pretty fabulous. I like that this comes out nice and thick. Next time I'll put in the dillweed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Sometimes the simplest things are the best! Clams are my favorite so of course clam chowder is awesome. This is more of a runny, soupy clam chowder, nothing like other recipes I've tried which are thicker. I would definitely make this again, but maybe add some carrots or celery to change it up and try new things. But with just potatoes, clams and onions, it's awesome as is too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I'm sorry, but I don't know why people thought this was so good. It was tasteless and watery. I followed the recipe exactly. It was edible, but sadly I've had better chowder. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Wow! This was so good! I only made a couple of changes. First of all I used 2 cups of fat free half and half and 1 cup of regular. Next time I will use all fat free. You really could't tell the difference. I use fresh razor clams, 2 bottles of clam juice and 2 cans of minced clams. I used the liquid from the juice and minced clams to cook the fresh clams and the diced potatoes. I also mixed the butter and flour as directed but then added some of the half and half before mixing it with the broth. Next time the only additional change I will make is to cut the potatoes a bit bigger and some of the razor clams a bit bigger too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
New England maybe... Newport, no... Guessing I expect a Newport clam chowder to be much more thin... had to edit recipe exponentially to get near a true Newport chowder. 3 stars because its still a good chowder, just not as titled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I would add more potatoes and less liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Made a few small changes for economy and taste. Used 5 cans of minced/chopped clams with juice, 2 12 oz cans of clam juice, and made up the remainder of the liquid with homemade chicken stock. Used diced frozen potatoes, heated in microwave, and added some white pepper as well as black. Cut half-and-half to 2 cups. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frugalux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Oh my goodness! This is the best! We made it pretty much exactly as stated, only we used 4 cans whole baby clams and 2 cans chopped clams and the juice instead of fresh. WOW! We'll be making this over and over, our new favorite chowder recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Fear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Made this for Christmas Eve and everyone loved it. I did substitute chicken broth for half of the clam juice to cut expense, but it was great. Even the kids liked it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spanish Fork, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States