Newport Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lacey R.
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This chowder was very good. I did change a few things though. I added bacon and only 2 tablespoons of butter instead of a half cup. I added two cans of chicken broth and filled one of the empty cans with half and half and that was plenty of liquid. I used two cans of minced clams in the juice and half a bottle of clam juice. This was very good and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey R.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
We LOVE this! I found the recipe last fall and I made it several times through spring. Looking forward to cooler weather again to get this cookin! Thanks OMMIE3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This is fabulous! I cook my potatoes in clam juice and it makes them taste great. A lovely recipe with amazing flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This chowder is excellent! I am very picky about clam chowder and I generally only eat it at a favorite local restaurant, because I have been eating it there since I was a kid. I have since moved away and I had a craving for chowder so I thought I would give this one a try. I am glad I did! It was very easy to make too. I used 5 medium potatoes, 4 cans of chopped clams, 2 jars of clam juice and 2 cans of chicken broth. Delicious! I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Pretty good! Be sure to add more half and half if you want it creamier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
The best!! I didn't have any dill so I didn't use it, we like it with pepper anyways, I also used more potatoes and clams and less clam juice (it's expensive!) and it turned out awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
My husband loves clam chowder, so I decided to try this recipe as a special treat for him. At first he was a little hesitant about the dill, but after having this soup a dozen times over the past couple of years, he is a true believer. This is one of the best clam chowders I have tasted and everyone who tastes it loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This was my first time making clam chowder and I was impressed. I prefer the chowder to be just a little thicker, so next time I will put a can of cream of potato soup in there. I also added about a half cup of shredded carrots, and I used 4 jars of clam juice and one can of chicken broth, plus two cans of baby clams, undrained. Over all, the flavor was wonderful (even better the next day). I will absolutely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I'm sorry to say that I didn't have the dillweed this recipe called for, so I made it without -- It was still pretty fabulous. I like that this comes out nice and thick. Next time I'll put in the dillweed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States