Newport Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
My go-to recipe! I add a dash of red-wine vinegar, and sometimes salt-pork, or liquid smoke. Pretty versatile. Yum yum, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Made this last week with clams caught by hand at Ninilchik, Alaska. Added half a pound of bacon to the recipe but otherwise followed it to the letter. Absolutely fabulous! Total crowd pleaser. We killed a pot in a single sitting. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndyW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Wonderful chowder recipe! FIrst time I'd ever made it, and we had some frozen razor clams and used those. Clam juice was almost 3.00 a bottle for 8 ounces, so we used two bottles and then chicken stock for the remaining 32 oz and made sure to put the clam juice from the clams in. I thought it still had great clam flavor. Cooking the potatoes separately is genius; that way they are never underdone or mushy. I also added celery to the onion mix and crumbled bacon at the end, per others' reviews. Rich, creamy, satisfying chowder that got rave reviews, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Delicious. Very good, my son and husband loved it too. I iused canned baby clams, red onion and red potatoes. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Florida, USA
Living In: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
We cut this recipe in half and used 2 jars of clam juice and one chicken broth to cut the cost. We used yukon gold potatoes. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Excellent recipe! I just got great comments from my guests. Special thanks to all the reviewers that suggested adding celery stalks and bacon. Wonderful addition that makes this dish even better. We have a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabyota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This is an amazing chowder recipe. I do use 48 oz. of chicken broth and 16 oz. of clam juice. The whole family enjoys it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Having grown up in New England, I've tried a lot of chowders. This recipe is excellent! I crisped up 3 slices of chopped bacon and cooked the onion in the bacon fat instead. I added the cooked bacon back into the chowder at the end. Don't skip the fresh dill weed, it totally makes the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Good basic recipe. I made it all in one pot by doing butter and onions first till translucent, adding the potatoes and clam juice next till potatoes were cooked through, then the rest later. I also used rice flour (just mix it in before the cream, no need to separate like flour) to make it a gluten free dish and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This is an excellent dish. I didn't put as much clam juice in and I also added corn. It turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolee.mb

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States