Newport Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
My go-to recipe! I add a dash of red-wine vinegar, and sometimes salt-pork, or liquid smoke. Pretty versatile. Yum yum, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Made this last week with clams caught by hand at Ninilchik, Alaska. Added half a pound of bacon to the recipe but otherwise followed it to the letter. Absolutely fabulous! Total crowd pleaser. We killed a pot in a single sitting. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndyW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Wonderful chowder recipe! FIrst time I'd ever made it, and we had some frozen razor clams and used those. Clam juice was almost 3.00 a bottle for 8 ounces, so we used two bottles and then chicken stock for the remaining 32 oz and made sure to put the clam juice from the clams in. I thought it still had great clam flavor. Cooking the potatoes separately is genius; that way they are never underdone or mushy. I also added celery to the onion mix and crumbled bacon at the end, per others' reviews. Rich, creamy, satisfying chowder that got rave reviews, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Delicious. Very good, my son and husband loved it too. I iused canned baby clams, red onion and red potatoes. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Florida, USA
Living In: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
We cut this recipe in half and used 2 jars of clam juice and one chicken broth to cut the cost. We used yukon gold potatoes. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Excellent recipe! I just got great comments from my guests. Special thanks to all the reviewers that suggested adding celery stalks and bacon. Wonderful addition that makes this dish even better. We have a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabyota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This is an amazing chowder recipe. I do use 48 oz. of chicken broth and 16 oz. of clam juice. The whole family enjoys it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Having grown up in New England, I've tried a lot of chowders. This recipe is excellent! I crisped up 3 slices of chopped bacon and cooked the onion in the bacon fat instead. I added the cooked bacon back into the chowder at the end. Don't skip the fresh dill weed, it totally makes the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Good basic recipe. I made it all in one pot by doing butter and onions first till translucent, adding the potatoes and clam juice next till potatoes were cooked through, then the rest later. I also used rice flour (just mix it in before the cream, no need to separate like flour) to make it a gluten free dish and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This is an excellent dish. I didn't put as much clam juice in and I also added corn. It turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolee.mb

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States