Newport Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I am a fair cook, but I have never made anything quite this excellent. Have had many Clam Chowders in and about New England. This is by far the best ever! John, South Carolina
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I was expecting more clam taste. Next time I will use canned clams to see if they have a stronger taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Fantastic Clam Chowder. I wanted a chowder recipe that does not rely on bacon fat to make it good. This recipe is phenomenal! Everyone loved it, including my 4 year old picky eater. I didn't think my sons were going to eat it so I made half the recipe. My sons polished their portion and asked for seconds! I had dried dill weed at home but it worked out. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Loved this clam chowder. I did use chicken broth, as I did not have clam juice. Did use lots of fresh clams though, and it still had great clam flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Great flavor, but was a little thin for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
The best Clam Chowder I have ever had! I did not add as much clam juice, I simply used the juice from the can and one bottle of clam juice, this was plenty when making for a serving for 4. I like my chowder thicker anyway. Also used minced clams and some whole, added celery finely chopped. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I made this exactly as it stated...My husband asked me where I hid the Chunky Cans...he seriously thought it was store bought...it was AMAZING! I make it all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Kovacic

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
TERRIFIC! I've never thought to make clam chowder before. This was so good even my kiddos ate it (two 8 yr olds and a 2 yr old!) I did add a jalapeño and scaled for 5 servings, and there's quite a bit leftover. This was better than every clam chowder I've ever had in a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Cortland, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I used milk instead of the 1/2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Made this one above my own and everyone loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States