Newport Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Oh this chowder was so good! I'm from Maine, so no traditional chowder from my neck of the woods has celery and carrots in it like many of the recipes on here. Gah.... I subbed a few ingredients, as I only had bottled clam juice and canned chopped clams. I also only had light cream instead of half and half. But the consistancy was SO good! Thick, creamy and reminded me of canned clam chowder but without the nasty canned soup taste, of course! Oh, and I used bacon grease in place of butter. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Oh my gosh! I have never made clam chowder before, and I've never had Newport style. My husband and I LOVED this recipe, and LOVED the thinner consistency. I didn't have any fresh clams so I just got the canned ones. I used 6 6.5oz cans chopped clams in their own juice, and 6 8oz jars of clam juice. It was amazing! Everything else was per recipe instructions, except I didn't have any dill. I topped it with a pat of butter, a little salt and pepper, and some old bay as another reviewer recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Fantastic recipe! Everyone raved about how great this soup came out - I followed the directions, but also doubled the potatoes to two pounds (I like the pieces cut a little smaller), and added some chopped bacon to the onion/flower mixture before mixing. I also went heavy on the dill, since we love dill. I went to college in Newport and haven't been able to find clam chowder that tastes so "Newporty" since! Thank you so much for sharing, will absolutley make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCooper1182

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
My Husband raved about this !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Liked it alot, I used canned clams with the juice and chicken broth, also heavy cream instead of half and half; as well as I added some spicy chili pepper( i like some spice to all foods) served it in a sourdough bread bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kyle Nicolls
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Hail the great OMMIE3! But seriously bomb chowder recipe. I cant believe how much difference the clam juice makes over water (I sucked it up and forked over the additional 8 bucks). My changes were 3-4 stalks of celery and I added 2 extra cans of clams (7.5oz) and withdrew 2 (8oz) bottles of juice. Then I threw it in a lightly toasted sourdough bread bowl. Sooo soo good. I think I am going to get some friends and have a chowder bowl night. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
excellent. I added the dill with the onions, and probably double the amount. I used canned clams, cooked the potatoes in some soup stock then added all of that, and didn't measure anything. It didn't need the flour, actually. I found it thick enough without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I made this recipe with a 50oz can of clams from Costso and used fish broth instead of clam juice. I also added 1/2 lb of diced bacon and 1/4 cup of dry red wine. I made it for a large gathering and people couldn't get enough of it. I served it with homemade garlic croutons on top( 3 on each bowl) guests said it wasby far the best clam chowder they had ever had. It was so good I had to make itagain the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
About as close as I can get to San Francisco (I know it's not New England but...) clam chowder at home in the desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Very, very good, though I felt like it was missing something. I think I'll add celery to the onion saute next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States