Newfoundland-Style Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I have tried it loved it. We ate our soup with some plain dinner rolls. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I used this recipe for my first attempt at pea soup. It was awesome. I added a little celery and onion and it was fantastic. My 10 year old told me it was the most amazing pea soup ever. Quite the compliment. It was a little runnier than I was used to growing up so the only thing that I will do next time is cut back slightly on the water. I found a recipe for dumplings on another site and the combination was great. This is a true Newfie pea soup. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I love this homemade Newfoundland pea soup! Only thing is, I'm a newfie living in New York and can't get salt beef here :( I will have to stick to making this when I'm home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Yummy!This recipe is just like my mother's. The only difference is we also add a diced onion and a couple of cubes potatoes. Delicious, and even better on the second day when its nice and thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Some shockin' good me ol' trout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Loved it! And so did everyone else. NL Pea Soup has always been my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I thought this recipe was delicious. I found "salt beef" at my local grocery store as "naval beef". It came frozen in a big tub. I used about 5 pieces of the beef, but off all the fat and was left with a bit less than a pound of small cubed beef. I used 3 cups of split peas instead of two, and also used about 12 cups of water. I added water every 20 min or so, everytime it seemed to simmer down a lot. I didnt soak the peas or the meat. I had to boil the meat and peas for 2 hours before adding the vegtables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allybaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I make "newfie pea soup" all the time...I would like to add that I also put chicken wings in mine, my Nan always did when I was a child and all my family members back home still cook it this way. Also I have never heard of anyone soaking the salt beef before hand. I always just throw it in the pot with the peas and let it cook up for about 2 hours before i start putting in the veggies. It's important to keep adding water. Also I always finish with dumplings (or doughboys as we call em' back home:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I usually make this soup after I've had a ham cooked. I use the large bone from the ham and some leftover cubed ham to add to the soup. Gives it great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I love any recipe that helps me recreate that back home feeling and salt beef is always a winner. For those that don't know of it, it is like corned beef (and cabbage) brisket. Salt beef is sold as "Naval beef" in 5 and 10 lb plastic tubs filled with brined chunks of beef in the chilled grocery section. Make sure you soak it well for a number of hours to remove the salt (change the water mid way if you really want to remove all salt). I prefer it a bit salty, because the way my mother would always cook it. Thank you Carolyn. (Any chance for Fish and Brewis?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Dawe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States