Newfoundland Jigg's Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Michael Martin
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I used this recipe when I did up Jigg's Dinner for Thanksgiving but didn't know it then. That is, I found the recipe after. My main difference was winging it with the corn beef brisket(you can'r get riblets here)and the peas pudding...but both came out okay, if not a little overcooked with the salt beef.Doing it up again for Christmas dinner as I type this. You need to add the recipe for Newfoundland Dressing...Mount Scio Savory, bread crumbs and a little onion. Great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Love this recipe. I like to make a dressing of savory/onion/bread with it and mix in a spoon of the vegetable liquor. If its not too salty or fatty, I'll also drink a cup of the liquor with my meal. (like soup... it has all the vitamins. You'll crave it once you do it.) and like someone else stated on here... if you also cook a chicken/turkey and add the liquor to the gravy... its insanely delicious. OR save the liquor for the next time you're making turkey soup. DON'T WASTE THE LIQUOR!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gregory Woolfrey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I make this meal with a sweet pickeled cottage roll it tastes great and the fat from the cottage roll adds a lot of flavour and you can also skip the soaking overnight of the meat with this version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This is a great recipie... If some found it bland it was because the salt beef was soaked too long and for those who found it to be soupy they cooked it too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I wanted to try and re-create the dinners my newfie boyfriends mom used to make. It really didn't have much flavour. I felt like I was eating flour. I may try it again and add some more of my own ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I love Newfie Jiggs dinner! One tip I'd like to add, I don't soak my salt beef overnight. I boil it for about 20 minuts first. drain about half the water and keep a cup or two of the salted water, just in case the dinner gets too "fresh". Also instead of making dumplings I make blueberry duff. Always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale-Ann Ernewein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I grew up having this meal every Sunday,It is my most favourite dish from home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newfiecook

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Thanks for clarifying MomWhoCooks as I was looking for a recipe with cured ribs and could not find one. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pegs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Grew up having a variation of this every weekend of my life. This is definitely a comfort food for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This is the best ever! Have a roast of chicken or beef with it and it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States