Newfoundland Jigg's Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This is a great recipie... If some found it bland it was because the salt beef was soaked too long and for those who found it to be soupy they cooked it too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I wanted to try and re-create the dinners my newfie boyfriends mom used to make. It really didn't have much flavour. I felt like I was eating flour. I may try it again and add some more of my own ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I love Newfie Jiggs dinner! One tip I'd like to add, I don't soak my salt beef overnight. I boil it for about 20 minuts first. drain about half the water and keep a cup or two of the salted water, just in case the dinner gets too "fresh". Also instead of making dumplings I make blueberry duff. Always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I grew up having this meal every Sunday,It is my most favourite dish from home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newfiecook

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Thanks for clarifying MomWhoCooks as I was looking for a recipe with cured ribs and could not find one. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pegs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Grew up having a variation of this every weekend of my life. This is definitely a comfort food for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This is the best ever! Have a roast of chicken or beef with it and it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Good, I'd make again. Used corned beef because I couldn't find salt beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I found this very bland and very heavy. Perhaps I soaked the meat too long. However, I've given it two stars because my family did clean their plates (well, mostly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
didn't care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States