New York System Hot Wiener Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This was an awesome hot dog sauce. Great sauce for a crowd, it is something everyone who loves hot dog sauce would enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Just like the real thing. I add some water to help it simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made this for my, but omitted the ketchup. We both thought it was good and a great tie over until we can travel up north and get the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I doubled the recipe. Had to increase the dry spices slightly. Absolutely amazing and awesomelicious!!!!! Thanks so much for sharing xoxoxoxoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I changed the garlic salt and onion salt to fresh garlic 4 minced cloves and 2 med onions small dice. 2oz ketchup+8oz can tomato sauce. My husband swears it's the best sauce he ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Bradford, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
While the final product was great, it took a lot of adjusting to make it so. I would say the hamburg is out of proportion to the other ingredients - maybe a typo? As presented, the result does not even come close to the RI sauce. I'd bet the hamburg should probably be in the 1 to 1/5 lb. range not 3. Will definitely make it again, but not use 3 pounds of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was very good, I too added a small can of tomato sauce. It was so much for the consitency as it was too lessen the sweetness of the ketchup. It was a rather dry sauce, not much liquid to it, even after adding the tomato sauce but it had great flavor. I would certainly make it again but am still on the hunt for the kind of sauce I've been looking for. And I must say, the additional shake of celery salt on top of the dogs/sauce just before eating them, SUPERB!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by danmango
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Too sweet, after being a Rhode Islander for 30 some odd years, I can taste the difference. I'm going to try a tomato paste rather than katchup in my next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
My friend made them for us, they were bomb!! A lil less of the allspice, my opinion anyway...I've eaten at a LOT of places in RI and Mass and pretty close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TracyS74

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
These are great. I followed the recipe exactly, and my whole family devoured them. I will always make this amount, then freeze what's left over. I know that I am repeating what most people who have tryed this have said but DON'T FORGET TO USE THE CELERY SALT BEFORE SERVING. Thank you Nancy, for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States