New York Style Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I wouldn't exactly call this NY Pizza...being a native myself. Sorry, it's just not the real thing. So much so that I probably won't make it again. I'll keep looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
New York-style Pizza? Not even close. I'm a New Yorker and can say positively this is not how you make a New York-style pie and is not what you will get from a NY pizza street vendor or from an elite NY pizza restaurant. I tried this recipe many moons ago but finally learned how its done. Several of us on Pizzamaking.com have documented the recipe for making authentic NY-style pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
This is a pretty good pizza. I did a few things different. I heated the tomato sauce on the burner with the basil, oregano and added minced garlic. I let the dough rise 2 times, and I encountered a problem as I used waxed paper instead of parchment and it was quite a task to transfer it to my stone (I sprinkled corn meal on the hot stone). I also added cooked italian sausage, mushrooms, grn pepper, and pepperoni and used only about 8 - 10 oz of the cheese. The cooking time 15 mins worked pretty well despite my additions and the stone gave a nice crunchy crust. I'll definitely try it again and will buy some parchment as it could have been a disaster without hubby's help during the transfer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
I live in Tx now, but I am orginally from CT. Everytime I eat this pizza it makes me think of pizza from home. Taste better than alot of the TX pizzas. I make my husband fix this for me all the time now. No frozen pizza or delivery anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eileen
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
As a native New Yorker/pizza expert, this is far from what you'd get in a pizzeria, but it is tasty. I probably won't make again since the real thing is a walk up the block for me, but I have tasted pizza hut/papa john's etc. and this is definitely better than their "pizza". I added extra garlic while it was baking! man i love pizza... :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Yum! deserves 10 stars! best pizza ive ever had! both my dad and brother want it made 4 their birthdays. added 1 large clove of garlic to the sauce, but i love garlic anyway. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Signal Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
It is very flavorful. Fix one of these and your not going to want Papa Johns anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This is an awesomely easy recipe that is very rewarding. I am extremely satisfied with the crust and everything. An all around success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
Fantastic! Far better than take out and even better than our best pizza restaurant! Fresh taste and great crust! Super simple and fun to knead the dough. I use fresh oregano and basil and low salt tomato sauce as the cheese is salty enough for us. I make a double batch of crust and usually do some toppings on one of them for variety, but this version is the favorite. My family will not go out for pizza again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Great pizza, and the dough was so easy to make. Very fragrant while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States