New York Style Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
It is very flavorful. Fix one of these and your not going to want Papa Johns anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
I live in Tx now, but I am orginally from CT. Everytime I eat this pizza it makes me think of pizza from home. Taste better than alot of the TX pizzas. I make my husband fix this for me all the time now. No frozen pizza or delivery anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Great pizza, and the dough was so easy to make. Very fragrant while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Good pizza. I accidentally used cayenne pepper instead of flakes and it was a little spicy, but not bad. I used 1/3 cup wheat flour - could have used more, it wasn't noticeable. 3 of us ate all but one slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
Fantastic! Far better than take out and even better than our best pizza restaurant! Fresh taste and great crust! Super simple and fun to knead the dough. I use fresh oregano and basil and low salt tomato sauce as the cheese is salty enough for us. I make a double batch of crust and usually do some toppings on one of them for variety, but this version is the favorite. My family will not go out for pizza again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Terrific! My family told me they would definitely eat this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I wouldn't exactly call this NY Pizza...being a native myself. Sorry, it's just not the real thing. So much so that I probably won't make it again. I'll keep looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I made this pizza but used "Jay's Signature Pizza Crust" as my crust. The pizza turned out good but I felt that the Romano cheese was a little pverpowering so if I make this again, I would reduce that or eliminate it completly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Was very good. Only as good as delivery though. Too much trouble to go to for pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
This is a pretty good pizza. I did a few things different. I heated the tomato sauce on the burner with the basil, oregano and added minced garlic. I let the dough rise 2 times, and I encountered a problem as I used waxed paper instead of parchment and it was quite a task to transfer it to my stone (I sprinkled corn meal on the hot stone). I also added cooked italian sausage, mushrooms, grn pepper, and pepperoni and used only about 8 - 10 oz of the cheese. The cooking time 15 mins worked pretty well despite my additions and the stone gave a nice crunchy crust. I'll definitely try it again and will buy some parchment as it could have been a disaster without hubby's help during the transfer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States