New York Style Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
New York-style Pizza? Not even close. I'm a New Yorker and can say positively this is not how you make a New York-style pie and is not what you will get from a NY pizza street vendor or from an elite NY pizza restaurant. I tried this recipe many moons ago but finally learned how its done. Several of us on Pizzamaking.com have documented the recipe for making authentic NY-style pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I live in Australia and have craved American pizza since visiting a couple of years ago. This is the closest I have come to getting that great taste again, not exact but still so yummy. I find if you cook it on a pizza stone the result is much better. Thanks to the person that posted this recipe, everyone who has tried it in my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarahh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eileen
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
As a native New Yorker/pizza expert, this is far from what you'd get in a pizzeria, but it is tasty. I probably won't make again since the real thing is a walk up the block for me, but I have tasted pizza hut/papa john's etc. and this is definitely better than their "pizza". I added extra garlic while it was baking! man i love pizza... :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Nice pizza. Simple and delicious. I used only drained and chopped organic tomatoes as I don't like the typical pizza sauce. A solid four star...probably could be a five with a thinner dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I made this for dinner for my family tonight and it was a pretty mixed review. One of my sons said it was terrible, my other son said it was awesome. My husband was kind of indifferent. I thought the crust was pretty good but the sauce needed some tweaking. I think it would be better to blend the tomatoe sauce and seasonings together then heat on the stove to cook the seasonings together. I felt it was missing something. Like another reviewer posted, I was thinking garlic would have been a good addition to the sauce. I will definitely make the crust again but will either find a new sauce or tweak this sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This recipe had a lot of flavor. BUT the dough was waaaay too thick and chewy. If the crust had of been better, the pizza would have been perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This is an awesomely easy recipe that is very rewarding. I am extremely satisfied with the crust and everything. An all around success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Even with the addition of gluten, the dough did not rise much and the finished crust looked much like the thickness of that in the picture. I even added a tsp. of sugar to the yeast to act as a catalyst. 1 tsp. of yeast is not even half of a package. This does not make alot of dough, and it did not even come to the edges of my large round pizza pan. Crust tasted similar to frozen. Made the crust only and topped w/fresh romas, garlic infused EVOO, cheeses, red onions, basil, and roasted red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This was delicious! Will definetely make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
It is really good and easy to make. The crust turned out beautifuly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salamanca, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States