New York-Style Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I was making a very hearty pizza and needed a crust that could hold it all and not get soggy. This crust fit the bill - perfectly. The amount of dough made a VERY large pizza. I could have made 2 normal size pizzas from one recipe. I did prebake the crust at 425° for 8 minutes with olive oil and 'Pixie Dust' from AR. Once prebaked, I topped with: pizza sauce w/meat, pesto, ham, turkey, red and green peppers, onion, thin tomato slices, fresh pineapple, jalapeños, mild pepper rings, cheddar cheese, swiss cheese and cottage cheese. I then proceeded to bake at 425° for 20-25 minutes. I let the pizza rest for about 7 minutes before taking a pizza cutter to it. That amount of time lets the cheeses set up, just a little. It was a ton of toppings, but the crust held up great. The leftovers reheated nicely in the toaster oven the next day. I wouldn't hesitate to use this crust again and again. Thanks Amanda-Rae for sharing your recipe. It's a winner in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Great pizza dough recipe. Loved the texture of the crust. Added garlic powder and only used 1 tablespoon of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Amanda-Rae is truly a genius. Just a fantastic pizza crust. dough is real easy to stretch, and makes a chewy, yet crispy crust. All I can say is thank you, Amanda Rae.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scout662
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Left the recipe the same and couldn't be happier. It really taste like a good new York crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Good pizza dough recipe. It's not all that flavorful, but pizza dough doesn't necessarily need to be, especially if you are topping it with a lot of yummy toppings. I wasn't sure of the yield, either, but I prefer thicker crusts, so I doubled this (had to add an extra 1/2 c of flour to compensate) and ended up with three pizzas--two large and one medium sized pizza. However, if I'd done thinner crusts I'm confident I could've gotten 5, possibly 6 pies out of this. I allowed the first two pies to rise for 20 minutes on the pan at 200 degrees, and left the other pie to rise on the board since I didn't have room in the oven for 3 of them. In transferring the third crust to the pan, it deflated so I let it rise again in the oven for 20 minutes. This one was much flatter, though, so I guess that's a technique if you like thin crusts but still like extra rising time. I made 2 Margherita pizzas and a 3rd pizza with whatever we had leftover: basil, pizza sauce, boursin cheese, bacon, and green olives. I like this crust; rises well and adjusts well, basic, and very simple to punch it up in flavor. Hubs really liked the crust on this; it turns out really soft and he used it to dip in spaghetti sauce. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lommen's
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
yum very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lommen's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Carlos, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Wasnt really happy with this one. Still searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat
Home Town: Spring Lake, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This crust has great flavor and texture and was super simple to make. I used my stand mixer with the dough hook in place of kneading and it was ready to rise in less than 10 minutes, start to finish. I did not need to add any additional flour. My only issue is this recipe doesn't indicate yield, so I assumed it was a one pizza recipe. As I was stretching the dough on my greased and cornmealed pizza pan, I quickly discovered it is at least 1 1/2 pizza's worth, if not two. I par baked for about 10 minutes as the oven preheated (put it in at 350) and then topped and baked at 550 for 8 minutes on bottom rack and 6 on top. Great recipe; I'll try it again splitting the dough in half for two pizzas and I'd imagine that thickness will be just right. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
just made this...and another recipe...this one seemed to form into a ball alot better than the other one i made...i think the kids will like it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poohbearandhunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States