New York-Style Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I had to use almost twice the butter to get the crust to stick, and I think I should have used a couple more Tbsp (so, about a stick), as it fell apart when I cut it. Flavor was very good; I didn't use the lemon/orange juice. Texture was great too. I followed the directions about leaving it in the oven, turned off, and it still split, but not as bad as Chef John's in his video. Overall, quite happy and this will be my go-to cheesecake recipe from now on. I look forward to trying it with the citrus juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Monticello, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Almost perfect. It was really easy to make. My only hiccup came with the graham cracker crust--it wasn't enough to cover the bottom of the pan. Maybe I prefer a thicker crust, but I found myself crushing even more graham crackers and melting even more butter twice. Consider doubling the amounts for butter and graham cracker. Other than that, it was so good, my mouth is watering typing this review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
SO GOOD AND EASY! I have always been fearful of making cheesecake; sounds so complicated! Made this to take to a party and WOW, it turned out beautifully and everyone RAVED about it. Not hard at all; just plan to make it early enough when you've time to let it sit in oven for 4 hours. Will definitely make again! Served it with the Chef John's Strawberry Sauce. Pure YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
My mom wanted a NY style cheesecake for her birthday so I decided to make her one. Glad I found this recipe. It was easy to make and mine did crack a bit on top but I think that I may have over baked it a little bit. Both my mom and aunt are from NY and they raved about this, other friends of my mom could not stop eating it. Will be my go to recipe from now on. Easy to make, not a lot of ingredients and light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KISSTHECHEF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Wonderful recipe- I followed it exactly and it came out very tasty- better than most restaurants. I did end up with a large crack on the top- but it was still delicious! Whoever said this recipe was bad obviously did NOT follow the directions. About to make it again right now for a going away party at work. Keeping my fingers crossed that it does not crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tiamoody
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This was the first time I tried my hand at making a cheesecake! It came out perfect!!! Now everyone wants me to make one. Great Recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elana
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is an amazing recipe. It came out perfectly and is the best cheesecake I have ever tasted, and that's including any cheesecakes ever purchased in bakeries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
mine came out insanely fluffy! not complaining but not what i expected tasty though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aura_bryt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Grayland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by looneyonthepath
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I really liked this recipe. I did add a little more butter to the crust so it would stick to the sides of the pan better. I used my KitchenAid mixer to mix the filling ingredients but I over beat it the first time I made it and it was too airy. I was more careful the next time and it came out perfect. That time I didn't have a lemon or an orange to zest so I substituted key lime and tangelo zest. I had to take it out of the oven a little early so I could cook my roast. It cracked a little, but not as much as most of my cheesecakes have. I have served it with homemade blackberry sauce and with homemade lemon curd. Both were ever so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by looneyonthepath

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: North Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I made it and got a crack on top just like the one in chef john's video! But then I made it again, and again--- they were EXCELLENT. No changes to the recipe, followed chef johns video instructions, never made a cheesecake before, will probably never use another recipe again because we love it so much. Now I'm looking for variant cheesecake recipes! Tried to upload the photo I took of it and posted on Facebook, but the iPad is limited :-(, so you'll just have to take my word for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States