New York-Style Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I'm giving it five star, was delicious and would make again - I did tweak the crust a bit by adding brown sugar and cinnamon, and also added a teasppon of lemon juice to the filling....I did try the trick to keep it from cracking and it's probably just my luck but it cracked anyway. All in all i've made it twice and there is NEVER any left over awesome recipe for classic ny cheese cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I love this recipe! Definitely a keeper, I used way less of the citrus zest because I only had one lemon and one orange on hand, and I made a shortbread cookie crust due to having leftover Christmas cookies I wanted to use. I definitely recommend using a mixer though because doing it by hand was a real PITA, other than that it was super simple and super awesome. It still cracked but I don't care, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAYLENE421

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Prepped and followed recipe exactly. Gigantic cracks, looks like a cross between lemon curd and rubber. It takes 15 minutes prep only if you have someone else prep all the ingredients and pan and all you have to do is walk up and mix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Oh my! This is the first NY style cheesecake I've ever made. I am an experienced baker & was skeptical about leaving it in the oven for so many hours after baking, but it turned out perfectly. No cracks! My only change was subbing non fat milk & light sour cream. It was creamy & with a light citrus undertone. My dad & husband loved it. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made this recipe twice and it came out perfect. Two things I did differently. I lowered the temperature of the oven by 20 degrees to prevent over heating since I was using a dark, nonstick springform pan which absorb more heat. Also to keep my cheesecake moist I placed a pan with water on the bottom rack while I was cooking the cheesecake on the rack above it. No cracks, easy to make. Hassle free!! Love it, Yes I would recommend this recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GlamWAHM
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Tried this recipe over the weekend and the whole family loved it! Ours had a little crack too, but that didn't keep us from enjoying it! Will be making mini-versions of this for Christmas as gifts. Thanks to the app that adjusts the recipe's ingredients--very helpful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jayuff
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
After MANY failed attempts at a beautiful cheesecake with no cracks, I finally have in to the water bath. It made all the difference. This recipe has always tastes great even with the cracks, but now I'm proud to show it naked! Thank you Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I tried this recipe today. Cheesecake still cracked, although I followed the directions. Recipe had no mention of "room temperature " ingredients. However, it would have been impossible to mix as directed if the ingredients weren't warmer. The graham crust was not good. No sugar in it! Makes a difference. Did not like that Probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carla
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving, it was wonderfully delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Absolutely loved this recipe! I made it for a friend's birthday because she doesn't like regular cake (She was going to make it herself, tsk). She loved it, I loved it, it was so dense and heavy and rich and perfect. I just now sent the link for this to a friend, seriously so so good. The only thing I changed was the base, I used digestive biscuits because you can't get graham crackers in my country.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States