New York-Style Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This was amazingly good! I made it as directed and it turned out just like the pictures. We ate it after it cooled in the pan and never refrigerated it. It was the most awesome tasting cheesecake I've ever had, bar none. I used a can of raspberry pie filling on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
My only "quibble" such as it is - clarity of a couple of details. "Small spot" in the middle - apparently my spot was TOO small, as I ended up slightly overbaking it. Also recipe doesn't specify to soften the cream cheese - I know it needs softened - but someone completely unfamiliar with making cheesecake could get frustrated wondering how the heck to whisk solid cream cheese! I also subbed about 2 tsp of lemon juice as I didn't have zest on hand - flavor was superb. Oops, also subbed 1 cup greek yogurt for the sour cream - texture and flavor was still excellent. Overmixed - my fault, I know better. The overbake - had never made it this way before, and my guess on the "small" was off. I should've shut off the oven when it was about silver dollar size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I wonder if yogurt could be substituted for the sour cream successfully? I have been wanting to make a REAL New York Cheesecake from scratch for quite a while now, I guess it always intimidated me, now that I FINALLY purchased a springform pan, and found this easy recipe, I will certainly make it. My granddaughter, and I simply love cheesecake! I will be making it for her birthday as she prefers that instead of cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This was my first attempt ever at making a cheesecake. I am not a cheesecake person at all, but made it for someone's birthday. Everyone raved about it so much that I tried some, and actually enjoyed it. This will be going in the recipe book. The only complaint was that the crust was a bit crumbly. I will add a bit more butter to it next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Have made this twice. Excellent! I love the texture...a bit lighter than a real heavy New York cheesecake but definitely enough "weight". Smooth and creamy. Love the hint of citrus...why chef calls it "sunshine"! Mine cracked both times but that doesn't bother me at all. I too made a little bit more graham cracker crumbs for the bottom and I did grease the pan....no sticking. This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I have to send a huge thank you to Chef John! He has taught me so much when it comes to cooking and baking! I have finally made a cheesecake! The recipe videos are wonderful for a beginner baker! I have made this recipe 4 times now. The first time I made it exactly as stated. The other 3 times I did not add any zest. Loved it, absolutely Amazing! Thank you Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I'm giving it five star, was delicious and would make again - I did tweak the crust a bit by adding brown sugar and cinnamon, and also added a teasppon of lemon juice to the filling....I did try the trick to keep it from cracking and it's probably just my luck but it cracked anyway. All in all i've made it twice and there is NEVER any left over awesome recipe for classic ny cheese cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I love this recipe! Definitely a keeper, I used way less of the citrus zest because I only had one lemon and one orange on hand, and I made a shortbread cookie crust due to having leftover Christmas cookies I wanted to use. I definitely recommend using a mixer though because doing it by hand was a real PITA, other than that it was super simple and super awesome. It still cracked but I don't care, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAYLENE421

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States