New York-Style Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This is the first cheesecake recipe I ever tried to make and now I don't want to use any other recipe out of fear it will not be as good. I was very impressed with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Goon Huay Hong
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Thanks for sharing the recipe and the video as it helps a lot. This is my first cheese cake and its turn out great. Dense and delicious. Even thought I am force to do some substitution as where I lived, sour cream is not available and I dont have yogurt in hand, I use homemade buttermilk.(as buttermilk is not available as well) For the graham crackers I used 2 1/2 cups (crushed) as I do not know how much is 18 graham crackers. For topping I use homemade Golden syrup.(recipe by Todd kitchen)As I did not leave long enough in the fridge to set, when cutting the crumbs did comes a bit lose. Its taste better the next day and less crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goon Huay Hong
Home Town: Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: Latina, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This was amazingly good! I made it as directed and it turned out just like the pictures. We ate it after it cooled in the pan and never refrigerated it. It was the most awesome tasting cheesecake I've ever had, bar none. I used a can of raspberry pie filling on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
My only "quibble" such as it is - clarity of a couple of details. "Small spot" in the middle - apparently my spot was TOO small, as I ended up slightly overbaking it. Also recipe doesn't specify to soften the cream cheese - I know it needs softened - but someone completely unfamiliar with making cheesecake could get frustrated wondering how the heck to whisk solid cream cheese! I also subbed about 2 tsp of lemon juice as I didn't have zest on hand - flavor was superb. Oops, also subbed 1 cup greek yogurt for the sour cream - texture and flavor was still excellent. Overmixed - my fault, I know better. The overbake - had never made it this way before, and my guess on the "small" was off. I should've shut off the oven when it was about silver dollar size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I wonder if yogurt could be substituted for the sour cream successfully? I have been wanting to make a REAL New York Cheesecake from scratch for quite a while now, I guess it always intimidated me, now that I FINALLY purchased a springform pan, and found this easy recipe, I will certainly make it. My granddaughter, and I simply love cheesecake! I will be making it for her birthday as she prefers that instead of cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This was my first attempt ever at making a cheesecake. I am not a cheesecake person at all, but made it for someone's birthday. Everyone raved about it so much that I tried some, and actually enjoyed it. This will be going in the recipe book. The only complaint was that the crust was a bit crumbly. I will add a bit more butter to it next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Have made this twice. Excellent! I love the texture...a bit lighter than a real heavy New York cheesecake but definitely enough "weight". Smooth and creamy. Love the hint of citrus...why chef calls it "sunshine"! Mine cracked both times but that doesn't bother me at all. I too made a little bit more graham cracker crumbs for the bottom and I did grease the pan....no sticking. This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I have to send a huge thank you to Chef John! He has taught me so much when it comes to cooking and baking! I have finally made a cheesecake! The recipe videos are wonderful for a beginner baker! I have made this recipe 4 times now. The first time I made it exactly as stated. The other 3 times I did not add any zest. Loved it, absolutely Amazing! Thank you Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States