New York Spiedies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I have made these a few times for my friends in Southern California. I still have Salamida State Fair Spiedie sauce shipped in from family and friends but this is a good fall back if I do not have the jar readily available. Since the spiedie hails from the Endicott area only soft Italian bread will do!!! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Born in Binghamton myself, my parents moved us to Phoenix when I was 2. We still had spiedies all the time when they could afford meat. When times were better we got to go home to NY/Pa to visit our family still there and have more. Going to have to make some up for my Super Bowl party, and this recipe is great, though I do cut back on the oregano a bit. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsVal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This dish hails from Abruzzo, the region of Italy west of Rome starting in the central mountains and extending to the Adriatic Sea. A large population immigrated from that region to the Binghamton, New York area and brought with them their religion, sense of family and food preparations. The spiedelini was born from the need to cook tough meat in an energy saving way while maintaining the artistry inherent in there dining. The same reason for the Kabob in the middle east. Venison, lamb, pork and chicken were the meats of choice. Beef was neither available nor affordable to the people of this area. An exploration of the cooking of Abruzzo will inform one of the delights in simplicity to be found in this pure regional cuisine. As many an exclusive Italian restaurant has discovered, Abruzzese cooks are simply the finest in Italy. To comment on the recipe, add some fresh mint, and the Abruzze always shake in a bit of crushed hot pepper. The time for marinating is governed by the quality and type of meat. A good French or Italian bread make little difference. In Binghamton a thick slice of Italian is the standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
So, I asked Mr. LTH for an extra piece of meat, that's how good these are! A couple of recipe issues, though, make it a 4, rather than 5, star recipe. Yes, it should be ITALIAN bread, not French (and, even knowing that, I still bought the *wrong* style of Italian bread...). More important than that, though, is this recipe needs mint! iI added 1/2 tsp of dried mint (fresh is even better) because I've never eaten Spiedies w/out it. The last issue I have is cubed "beef"...that's a really big window of meats. I used a chuck roast, which I wouldn't recommend, just to prove my point. W/a few small tweaks/clarifications, this IS a great recipe (regardless of the meat YOU choose for your base). THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I was craving spiedies today because I haven't had them since I moved from NY. I decided to try this recipe because there was only ONE review on here that actually talked about the marinade! It was delicious by the way. I only had time to let it sit for a couple of hours but it was so flavorful! Regardless of how you make traditional spiedies the marinade itself is what matters most.. not the bread. I have seen beef marinated with a spiedi sauce before, no surprises here, it tastes just as delicious. There were a few things I had to tweak for this recipe. I had to use fresh basil instead of dried and added a little more lemon juice because I didn't have fresh. I did think that it had a tad too much oregano but this could have been an error on my part. I gave this recipe five stars because it was everything I hoped it would be, flavorful and delicious! Thank you for sharing this recipe, it definitely made my day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I actually use the Spiede marinate for other items such as boneless pork chops. I put the chops in the marinate overnight as if they were Spiedes. The next day I 3/4 cook the chops in the oven and finish them off on the BBQ grill. I also use the left over marinate as a BBQ sauce while I grill the chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I am from there,my favorite place to get speidies is on main st. in ENDWELL , just past GUALTS auto sales.---LUPOS is on the right.----For all you old guys.I remember "PONCHO"S PIT" just acrossed the bridge in VESTAL.----WAAAAY back when. great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I am a Triple Cities native and have grown up eating a wide variety of spiedies, however, would like to clear up a couple of points: 1) Spiedies are ALWAYS served on an Italian bread product (most commonly on thick sliced bread, but also a hard Italian roll works very well) 2) They are skewered on metal skewers traditionally and then pulled off with the bread in the other hand 3) There is much debate about the originators of the spiedie-- some claim Lupo's, others state that the spiedies served from Pasquale's Deli on Broad ave are the orignals. These are personally my favorite. One thing is for certain, they are delicious, and the longer you marinate your meat--the better. Happy Dining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I lived in Endicott most of my life and I actually preffered the small seeded rolls used at Lupo's that used to be in the Price chopper plaza. Chicken has always been my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
When I wrote this recipe out I actually typed "French" bread by mistake when I meant to say Italian. But it really doesn't matter. I've seen spiedies served on rolls as well. You can also use chicken, lamb, or pork - whatever you prefer. Live a little!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Lewiston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States