New York Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2000
I've made this three times now, so my revised review is: very tasty rye bread, but I increased rye flour to 2 cups and decreased bread flour to 1-2/3 cups. this enhanced the rye flavor. The loaf is pretty small but has a nice texture inside and out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
After many Rye Bread recipe failures this one came through for me with flying colors. I made some subtle changes however. I increased the amount of water to 1-1/4 cups, the amount of oil to 1/4 cup, and the amount of caraway seeds to 3 teaspoons. I also combined the water, honey and yeast and allowed it to sit for 10 minutes prior to adding the remaining ingredients. I set my bread machine on the dough cycle and then transferred the dough to a greased bread pan when it was finished. I did not punch the dough down. I formed it into a loaf shape, covered it with a damp towel, and allowed it to rise for 40 minutes. I baked it for 30 minutes at 350 degrees and it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2000
By using a total of 1 1/4 cups of water and using the "Dough" setting on my bread machine, I made the best free-form rye loaf I've made to date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jyano
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I will echo the other positive comments. I have probably made this recipe 25 times now, with variations, and find it to be the best I've tried. I take it for lunch almost every day. It is moist, it does keep longer than others It bakes well in the oven, and it does need at least 1 1/4 cups of water. Really excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jyano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Colchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
As others sis I upped the water. I actually started with 1 and 1/4 cup and added another tbs after that. I also upped the oil as suggested by one review to 1/4 cup. Then as another reveiwer sugested I went with 2 cups rye and 1 2/3 cup regular flour turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
This bread stayed fresh for longer than other breads. It is still good after three or four days. I like more caraway flavor. So I use at least 1 Tablespoon. I also used 1 1/4 cups of water. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made this without a bread machine (although the kitchen aid mixer does about as much of my work) and it was wonderful. Very fluffy, great texture and delicious. I added all the dry ingredients plus the oil to the mixer bowl while mixing the warm water, honey, yeast and milk powder together and let them sit for 10 minutes. Then I added the liquid (1 1/4 cup water and about another tbl spn added during the kneading) and let the machine knead for about 5 minutes. I let it rise in a warm place (greased bowl with tight lid floating in a sink of warm water) for 45 minutes, punched it down and put it in a warm oven for 5 minutes and then took it out while the oven pre-heated. Baked for 40 minutes @ 350. My husband says I "bake good bread."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I made this bread as stated (except for the caraway seeds, we didn't have any on hand). The only thing I did differently is to make it by hand. I baked it at 350 for 30 minutes. Some people complained that it made a dinky sized loaf, but I don't think it was small. I thought is was a good sized loaf. Granted I'm going to have to make 2 loaves this week instead of my usual one loaf because everyone keeps going back for more sandwhiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
I've made this rye twice now. The flavor is not bad, but the density is more reminiscent of brick than bread. Methinks this recipe needs more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDude

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
After reading some of the other reviews, I added more water and oil, plus 1 t. of sugar to the yeast mixture. Also, I baked for 30 minutes at 375 degrees. This bread was good, but not great. Will keep searching for the perfect recipe for NY Rye Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arkadelphia, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States