New York Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2000
By using a total of 1 1/4 cups of water and using the "Dough" setting on my bread machine, I made the best free-form rye loaf I've made to date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2000
I've made this three times now, so my revised review is: very tasty rye bread, but I increased rye flour to 2 cups and decreased bread flour to 1-2/3 cups. this enhanced the rye flavor. The loaf is pretty small but has a nice texture inside and out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
This bread stayed fresh for longer than other breads. It is still good after three or four days. I like more caraway flavor. So I use at least 1 Tablespoon. I also used 1 1/4 cups of water. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
I've made this rye twice now. The flavor is not bad, but the density is more reminiscent of brick than bread. Methinks this recipe needs more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDude

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
It made a brick. I don't understand the rave reviews. I shall not make it again. The recipe that came with my West Bend bread machine mades much better rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
After many Rye Bread recipe failures this one came through for me with flying colors. I made some subtle changes however. I increased the amount of water to 1-1/4 cups, the amount of oil to 1/4 cup, and the amount of caraway seeds to 3 teaspoons. I also combined the water, honey and yeast and allowed it to sit for 10 minutes prior to adding the remaining ingredients. I set my bread machine on the dough cycle and then transferred the dough to a greased bread pan when it was finished. I did not punch the dough down. I formed it into a loaf shape, covered it with a damp towel, and allowed it to rise for 40 minutes. I baked it for 30 minutes at 350 degrees and it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
So I combined this one w/"Pumpernickel I" and wasn't crazy about the results. A bit dry and lacking in rye or pump flavor. The only change I made was to up the rye flour, like I saw recommended, 2/3rds and reduced the bread flour by same. Also, have not tried a rye bread till this one. Guess like the italian, it still needs more trial and error. Anyone have any marble recipes/experiences?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jyano
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I will echo the other positive comments. I have probably made this recipe 25 times now, with variations, and find it to be the best I've tried. I take it for lunch almost every day. It is moist, it does keep longer than others It bakes well in the oven, and it does need at least 1 1/4 cups of water. Really excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jyano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Colchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Very good recipe. I put in the 1 1/4 c. water other reviewers recommended, then I found I had to add an extra 3 Tablespoons of water to get the dough consistency right. After that baked up, it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graniteville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
As others sis I upped the water. I actually started with 1 and 1/4 cup and added another tbs after that. I also upped the oil as suggested by one review to 1/4 cup. Then as another reveiwer sugested I went with 2 cups rye and 1 2/3 cup regular flour turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States