New York Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Mine came out like a brick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made this without a bread machine (although the kitchen aid mixer does about as much of my work) and it was wonderful. Very fluffy, great texture and delicious. I added all the dry ingredients plus the oil to the mixer bowl while mixing the warm water, honey, yeast and milk powder together and let them sit for 10 minutes. Then I added the liquid (1 1/4 cup water and about another tbl spn added during the kneading) and let the machine knead for about 5 minutes. I let it rise in a warm place (greased bowl with tight lid floating in a sink of warm water) for 45 minutes, punched it down and put it in a warm oven for 5 minutes and then took it out while the oven pre-heated. Baked for 40 minutes @ 350. My husband says I "bake good bread."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made this recipe as is for the first try. No changes. Could not use the bread machine as it was too dense to knead it. Will try again following some of the reviews to add more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Good hearty rye bread but it is a heavier bread. The crust was nice and crusty after baking but it did not raise as high as I wanted and was not as light as I wanted. I will try it again though. I did increase with 2 cups of rye to 1 2/3 cups of white flour as suggested but that may have made it more dense but I like healthier breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I followed the suggestions made by others and reversed the rye and bread flour amounts and I omitted the dry milk powder, but I added 1/4 milk to my warm water. Made this with a stand mixer and I was a bit worried the dough might be too stiff, but it worked out quite well. Very tasty, dense rye bread to rival my local (NY) bakery. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This is a great bread..I do it without a bread machine and it comes out wonderful everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is a FANTASTIC recipe for Homemade Rye!!! As with other reviewer's, I used 2 cups dark rye flour and 1 2/3rds cup all-purpose flour and as I didn't have any honey, I used 1 1/2 tbsp plain sugar, also increased the vegetable oil to a 1/4 cup and increased the caraway seeds to 1 tbsp (gotta have lots of seeds!!!) This is fantastic and I couldn't wait to dive in when it was cool enough! it complemented the Butternut Squash Soup I had for dinner! YUM-YUM! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
We LOVED this bread! I'm making all of our bread now instead of buying at the store, and this recipe will take a top spot in my recipe box :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
used the no-knead/high heat process for this but added 1C chopped onions - roasted to eliminate water and carmelize a bit (otherwise bread soggy) and toasted the caraways a few minutes. Kept rye content to no more than 20% - great crusty bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I've never made rye bread before, I chose this recipe since it sounded so good and so many rave reviews about it. I was not wrong to chose it. This recipe makes an excellent bread. It's light, not heavy at all. If your bread does come out heavy, something is wrong with how you did it. I did all the suggested modifications, increase water, rye flour, oil, and caraway seed. No need to add any sugar, you already have the honey. Decrease the bread flour to 1 2/3 C. You do it with the suggested modifications, you won't be disappointed. It's delicious still warm with butter. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States