New York Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is a FANTASTIC recipe for Homemade Rye!!! As with other reviewer's, I used 2 cups dark rye flour and 1 2/3rds cup all-purpose flour and as I didn't have any honey, I used 1 1/2 tbsp plain sugar, also increased the vegetable oil to a 1/4 cup and increased the caraway seeds to 1 tbsp (gotta have lots of seeds!!!) This is fantastic and I couldn't wait to dive in when it was cool enough! it complemented the Butternut Squash Soup I had for dinner! YUM-YUM! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2000
By using a total of 1 1/4 cups of water and using the "Dough" setting on my bread machine, I made the best free-form rye loaf I've made to date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
This bread stayed fresh for longer than other breads. It is still good after three or four days. I like more caraway flavor. So I use at least 1 Tablespoon. I also used 1 1/4 cups of water. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
After many Rye Bread recipe failures this one came through for me with flying colors. I made some subtle changes however. I increased the amount of water to 1-1/4 cups, the amount of oil to 1/4 cup, and the amount of caraway seeds to 3 teaspoons. I also combined the water, honey and yeast and allowed it to sit for 10 minutes prior to adding the remaining ingredients. I set my bread machine on the dough cycle and then transferred the dough to a greased bread pan when it was finished. I did not punch the dough down. I formed it into a loaf shape, covered it with a damp towel, and allowed it to rise for 40 minutes. I baked it for 30 minutes at 350 degrees and it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jyano
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I will echo the other positive comments. I have probably made this recipe 25 times now, with variations, and find it to be the best I've tried. I take it for lunch almost every day. It is moist, it does keep longer than others It bakes well in the oven, and it does need at least 1 1/4 cups of water. Really excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jyano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Colchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
As others sis I upped the water. I actually started with 1 and 1/4 cup and added another tbs after that. I also upped the oil as suggested by one review to 1/4 cup. Then as another reveiwer sugested I went with 2 cups rye and 1 2/3 cup regular flour turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I made this bread as stated (except for the caraway seeds, we didn't have any on hand). The only thing I did differently is to make it by hand. I baked it at 350 for 30 minutes. Some people complained that it made a dinky sized loaf, but I don't think it was small. I thought is was a good sized loaf. Granted I'm going to have to make 2 loaves this week instead of my usual one loaf because everyone keeps going back for more sandwhiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Once again, echoing the sentiments of needing more water. Other than that, this loaf turned out absolutely perfect. I'm keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
We LOVED this bread! I'm making all of our bread now instead of buying at the store, and this recipe will take a top spot in my recipe box :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This is a great bread..I do it without a bread machine and it comes out wonderful everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States