New York Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Honestly, meh. It was pretty ordinary. I tried the suggestions to use more rye and less wheat flour and got a smaller, harder loaf with not that much more flavour. I was hoping to get a good recipe to make smoked meat sandwiches, and this was disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Very easy and tasty! I will make this again, but add more rye flour for more flavor. Very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUMLUVS2COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Delicious, light and yummy rye bread. Following the suggestions from the reviews I upped the water to 1 1/4 cups, added an extra tsp of oil and switched the rye & bread flour ratios. I also left out the powdered milk & gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
So easy and my husband, the picky eater, LOVED it! A little too much caraway for my taste, but it was still super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traskwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
After reading some of the other reviews, I added more water and oil, plus 1 t. of sugar to the yeast mixture. Also, I baked for 30 minutes at 375 degrees. This bread was good, but not great. Will keep searching for the perfect recipe for NY Rye Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arkadelphia, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Once again, echoing the sentiments of needing more water. Other than that, this loaf turned out absolutely perfect. I'm keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I made this bread as stated (except for the caraway seeds, we didn't have any on hand). The only thing I did differently is to make it by hand. I baked it at 350 for 30 minutes. Some people complained that it made a dinky sized loaf, but I don't think it was small. I thought is was a good sized loaf. Granted I'm going to have to make 2 loaves this week instead of my usual one loaf because everyone keeps going back for more sandwhiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
As others sis I upped the water. I actually started with 1 and 1/4 cup and added another tbs after that. I also upped the oil as suggested by one review to 1/4 cup. Then as another reveiwer sugested I went with 2 cups rye and 1 2/3 cup regular flour turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Very good recipe. I put in the 1 1/4 c. water other reviewers recommended, then I found I had to add an extra 3 Tablespoons of water to get the dough consistency right. After that baked up, it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graniteville, Vermont, USA
Photo by jyano
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I will echo the other positive comments. I have probably made this recipe 25 times now, with variations, and find it to be the best I've tried. I take it for lunch almost every day. It is moist, it does keep longer than others It bakes well in the oven, and it does need at least 1 1/4 cups of water. Really excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jyano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Colchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States