New York Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Made this into round rye to eat with dill dip. Bread was great! Better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This is a great rye bread recipe hands down the best one I have ever tried. I bake bread every week for the family this recipe comes out perfect every time. I make it in the bread machine on dough cycle only changes to this recipe were adding 1-1/4 cups of water and a 1/4 cup of oil, (I do not use caraway seeds family preference) I also use olive oil, then transfer to my bread pan. I also bake it with a bowl of water in the oven it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grant Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Beecher, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I have a great tip to add to this rye bread recipe. Cut back on regular flour to one and third cup and you'll see a huge difference. Loved this recipe. I don't have a bread machine and I didn't have gluten or dry milk so I skipped it. I went the route of suggested two cups rye and fourth cup oil but here's the key to good bread. Mix up everything adding just one cup regular flour and mix until it looks like wet sand then add a few tablespoons at a time of regular flour until dough is easy to handle then let rise. Voila! You won't get a brick but great rye bread instead. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Okay, I did all the recommend modifications that people commented on & I must say this turned out the best Rye Bread that I enjoyed!! Didn't had to add the 1 tbsp of water tho, also placed it all in my food processor & pulsed it a few times, mind you this was my first time baking Rye Bread, also I don't care for Rye to much but even I loved it, & I increased the Caraway Seeds to 3 tsp. Everyone who tried it LOVED IT!!! Even my Rabbi said its a keeper especially when you can't buy it being that I don't live in New York, I've tasted some really good Rye Bread but this one is truly a keeper!!!!! Also I added about 1/2 cup of Walnuts, I had to knead it in along with the seeds, yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charmaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nanakuli, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I'm surprised how nice this loaf looked since it's my first attempt at rye bread. I changed the flour proportion to 2C rye and 1 2/3C bread. I needed the extra 1/4C water as others but that may be due to altering the flour. I don't have a bread machine so used my stand mixer and it barely handled this dough, but it did. It was easy to form into a loaf, I used the pull to the bottom method several times around and then pinched the seams and baked it on my silpat for about 35 min at 350 (convection). Not everyone here likes the caraway seeds so I left them out. The texture is soft but sturdy and it was easily cut into thin slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This worked well in my toastmaster bread maker as white bread type, except that it MUST have the higher amount of water noted by the previous reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Utica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I did make the changes of rye flour and reg bread flour and I did use 1/4 cup of water but it was the best rye bread. It rose so high that it hit the top of my bread maker. Delicious toasted. Has become a regular for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This bread did not come out well at all. It formed a ball in one side of the breat machine, I think it might be better with more water as suggested by other people. May try it again as the flavour and texture was OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
End result - a tasty, dense loaf, with a wonderful crunchy crust. This recipe definitely needs some tweaking. After reading countless reviews, I increased the water to 1 1/4 cups. I prefer to bake bread in the oven as opposed to the bread machine, so used the dough cycle. And also increased the caraway seed to 3 teaspoons. The ingredients came together quite nicely with the additional water, however when I went to remove it from the pan, it was just a sticky mess. Quite a bit of additional four was needed till I was able to free form a loaf, which I'm sure didn't help the texture. I would like to attempt this recipe again, but will probably try others for rye bread before doing so. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Doug.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This turned out great in the end. But when we checked the dough during the first knead cycle, as recommended by our bread machine's instructions, we needed to add quite a bit of water, as the dough was too dry. With the extra water, it turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States