New York Pushcart Onions (For Hot Dogs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
New York Pushcart Onions (For Hot Dogs) Haiku: "Cinnamon scared me. But this turned out really good! Made my hot dog yum!" I scaled back for serving this on 3 hot dogs, a little nervous about the inclusion of cinnamon, but I followed the recipe as written (using Sriracha for the pepper sauce), and was really thrilled w/ the results! Too bad eating it didn't transport me from my Georgia patio to the streets of New York though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Since I have no point of reference it's hard to rate this recipe. So I have no idea how this compares to the real deal. I made it exactly as written except omitted the bell pepper as I didn't have one. This wasn't bad but nothing special. I think I'll stick to mustard and relish. I made this for the Recipe Group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group...We really enjoyed these, but I did make a couple minor changes...First, I only had one onion, but I still kept all of the other ingredients the same, except the water, which I reduced to 1/4 cup b/c the amount of water seemed excessive to me, and I thought that was perfect! I did use the optional green pepper, and I thought that was a great addition! I was skeptical on using the cinnamon, and almost didn't, but decided to and it was fine (couldn't really taste it). Great flavor and not too spicy, which is why my mom loved them so much. I will definitely be making these again and again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Recipe Group selection 11/3/12. My teens gave it a thumbs up, my husband did not. I would advise making the onions thinly sliced. They did take much longer to soften to the point where you could really bite through them. I used red peppers instead of green. If I was to do this again I would use slightly more ketchup and less chili powder. Not that there is alot to begin with but. My husband did not like the sauce. He said that if the onion were diced he might like it better. I am giving it a 5 because the recipe was followed and it was what it was supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I absolutely loved these! Very tasty! I accidently had an outpour of cinnamon when I added my "dash" so ended up w/about 1/4 tsp or more in a half batch of this but it was still awesome!! Made for Allrecipes Recipe Group. Join us on "the buzz" every thurs. to nominate new recipes to try. Everyone is welcome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Absolutely loved this recipe and have no qualms in rating it 5 stars. I used Peruvian Sweet Onions and I am positive that was a great plus. My tweaks were: used brown sugar versus white, added a dash of salt and only 1/4 cup of water. I made this for the Recipe Group selection. Thank you Ethier65 for sharing your delicious recipe - it is a definite keeper and will be used repeatedly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I didn't have any bell peppers so I made it with just the onions. I used light brown sugar instead of white to give it a richer flavor. This is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I thought this added great flavor to the hotdogs and would be perfect for the summer cook-outs that will be happening shortly. I didn’t have any green peppers, but it still was very tasty without it. This had been a Recipe Group selection for 11/3/12 that I had missed. I’m glad I had saved the recipe to try - better late than never.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Hubby has a hard time with raw onions on anything. This was a perfect recipe for him. I did add a dash of bbq sauce to the mix and it was perfect! He wants this on his dogs from now on. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I really enjoyed these! I did more than one dash of hot pepper sauce and used red bell peppers. I could eat them on their own...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States