New York Pushcart Onions (For Hot Dogs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Loved these! I sauté onions and peppers often, and I really enjoyed the taste of the added spices in this. I thought the cinnamon sounded liked it didn't belong with the other spices, but, it worked. I down scaled this enough to have for 4 hot dogs. Nice recipe that I will be making again. Thanks ETHIER65 for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I really enjoyed these! I did more than one dash of hot pepper sauce and used red bell peppers. I could eat them on their own...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Hubby has a hard time with raw onions on anything. This was a perfect recipe for him. I did add a dash of bbq sauce to the mix and it was perfect! He wants this on his dogs from now on. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I thought this added great flavor to the hotdogs and would be perfect for the summer cook-outs that will be happening shortly. I didn’t have any green peppers, but it still was very tasty without it. This had been a Recipe Group selection for 11/3/12 that I had missed. I’m glad I had saved the recipe to try - better late than never.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I didn't have any bell peppers so I made it with just the onions. I used light brown sugar instead of white to give it a richer flavor. This is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Absolutely loved this recipe and have no qualms in rating it 5 stars. I used Peruvian Sweet Onions and I am positive that was a great plus. My tweaks were: used brown sugar versus white, added a dash of salt and only 1/4 cup of water. I made this for the Recipe Group selection. Thank you Ethier65 for sharing your delicious recipe - it is a definite keeper and will be used repeatedly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I absolutely loved these! Very tasty! I accidently had an outpour of cinnamon when I added my "dash" so ended up w/about 1/4 tsp or more in a half batch of this but it was still awesome!! Made for Allrecipes Recipe Group. Join us on "the buzz" every thurs. to nominate new recipes to try. Everyone is welcome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Recipe Group selection 11/3/12. My teens gave it a thumbs up, my husband did not. I would advise making the onions thinly sliced. They did take much longer to soften to the point where you could really bite through them. I used red peppers instead of green. If I was to do this again I would use slightly more ketchup and less chili powder. Not that there is alot to begin with but. My husband did not like the sauce. He said that if the onion were diced he might like it better. I am giving it a 5 because the recipe was followed and it was what it was supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group...We really enjoyed these, but I did make a couple minor changes...First, I only had one onion, but I still kept all of the other ingredients the same, except the water, which I reduced to 1/4 cup b/c the amount of water seemed excessive to me, and I thought that was perfect! I did use the optional green pepper, and I thought that was a great addition! I was skeptical on using the cinnamon, and almost didn't, but decided to and it was fine (couldn't really taste it). Great flavor and not too spicy, which is why my mom loved them so much. I will definitely be making these again and again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States