New York Pushcart Onions (For Hot Dogs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Very good, and very authentic! I made this as is and threw it on top of some keilbasa with my famous chilli and cream cheese sauce and some brown mustard. Unbelievably good! like heaven prancing over my taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
These were outstanding on top of our grilled brats! I was somewhat skeptical, as I was mixing it all up, but the flavor of these is just awesome! Thanks for much for sharing this recipe, ETHIER65!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Loved these! I sauté onions and peppers often, and I really enjoyed the taste of the added spices in this. I thought the cinnamon sounded liked it didn't belong with the other spices, but, it worked. I down scaled this enough to have for 4 hot dogs. Nice recipe that I will be making again. Thanks ETHIER65 for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I really enjoyed these! I did more than one dash of hot pepper sauce and used red bell peppers. I could eat them on their own...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Hubby has a hard time with raw onions on anything. This was a perfect recipe for him. I did add a dash of bbq sauce to the mix and it was perfect! He wants this on his dogs from now on. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I thought this added great flavor to the hotdogs and would be perfect for the summer cook-outs that will be happening shortly. I didn’t have any green peppers, but it still was very tasty without it. This had been a Recipe Group selection for 11/3/12 that I had missed. I’m glad I had saved the recipe to try - better late than never.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I didn't have any bell peppers so I made it with just the onions. I used light brown sugar instead of white to give it a richer flavor. This is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Absolutely loved this recipe and have no qualms in rating it 5 stars. I used Peruvian Sweet Onions and I am positive that was a great plus. My tweaks were: used brown sugar versus white, added a dash of salt and only 1/4 cup of water. I made this for the Recipe Group selection. Thank you Ethier65 for sharing your delicious recipe - it is a definite keeper and will be used repeatedly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I absolutely loved these! Very tasty! I accidently had an outpour of cinnamon when I added my "dash" so ended up w/about 1/4 tsp or more in a half batch of this but it was still awesome!! Made for Allrecipes Recipe Group. Join us on "the buzz" every thurs. to nominate new recipes to try. Everyone is welcome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States