New York Italian Style Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
THIS IS THE RECIPE I'VE USED FOR 30 YEARS. DON'T CHANGE A THING. IT IS DELICIOUS & GETS RAVES WHENEVER I TAKE IT SOMEWHERE. AND IT'S NOT DIFFICULT, ALTHOUGH EVERYONE THINKS IT IS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
What a creamy delicious, not too sweet hit! I always use LITE cream cheese and sour cream. I also cut the recipe in half, since there's just two of us. And I made a delicious cinnamon graham cracker crust that I found on this website (just added cinnamon to it)! Oh, this was so yummy. My husband is still drooling. I baked it on 300 for 1 hour. I didn't even care that it cracked a little right in the middle, so that's where I sliced it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyl46

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forest Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I have been making this and the lemon taste does not shine through. It is wonderful as written. Although I use 1/2 cup melted butter and cooled, as posted on this site under Italian cream cheese and ricotta cheesecake submitted by April.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
My husband loves this cake! I've made it several times. I omit the flour and add another T. cornstarch to make it gluten free for my daughter who has celiacs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Made this yesterday and what a treat! Didn't change a thing, which is unusual for me but the right decision, as this recipe is perfect. My husband and I kept commenting on the flavors rising to the top.... Ricotta! Sour cream! Cheese! Lemon! Love this recipe and have a feeling "traditional" cheesecake has lost it's place in my baking repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Used 1/2 cup of butter and 3 Tsp of vanilla. GREAT RECIPE. This is what real New York cheesecake should taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I made this for my daughters birthday. She loves good cheesecake, as do I. It is absolutely devine! Did not change any part of the recipe. If you enjoy truly delicious cheesecake, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
It was not my favorite. Followed exacty & was watery. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This is just what I've been looking for! This is what I've always been told NY Style Cheescake should be. I've eaten it in restaurants many times and it's wonderful. I dislike any kind of cookie crust, and from what I'm told, it doesn't belong on a true NY Style Cheescake! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
This has been my recipe for years, too (like another reviewer). I use the lemon juice plus 1/4 -1/2 tsp lemon extract. You can make this with a graham cracker crust: 1 "sleeve" of graham crackers, crushed finely, and mixed with 1/2 stick of butter, melted. Press the mixture into the bottom and partway up the sides of a greased pan before putting the batter in and baking. Or you can make a nut crust: finely chop enough pecans (or walnuts) to cover the bottom of the greased pan. You can mix in a little melted butter if you like but you don't have to. Press the nuts into the bottom (you can't really go up the sides much with nuts) before adding the batter and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States