New York Italian Style Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
This has been my recipe for years, too (like another reviewer). I use the lemon juice plus 1/4 -1/2 tsp lemon extract. You can make this with a graham cracker crust: 1 "sleeve" of graham crackers, crushed finely, and mixed with 1/2 stick of butter, melted. Press the mixture into the bottom and partway up the sides of a greased pan before putting the batter in and baking. Or you can make a nut crust: finely chop enough pecans (or walnuts) to cover the bottom of the greased pan. You can mix in a little melted butter if you like but you don't have to. Press the nuts into the bottom (you can't really go up the sides much with nuts) before adding the batter and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Not bad for no crust and something less heavy. I was shy maybe 1/4 C of Sour Cream and used 1 C sugar. I did drizzle about 1 T of honey into the batter. Used full fat ricotta as well. Everything went splendid until I pulled cake out too soon from oven. It developed a crack after about an hour afterwards - but really, I don't care...just reporting, lol. I covered the top with a strawberry glaze that included fresh sliced berries that covered 3" long crack on top. No big deal for myself. I had filled a roasting pan 1/2 full with boiling water to sit under the cheesecake but it cracked due to rushing things. Sidenote: I am at sea level so not sure if anyone at high alt needs to make adjustments but I believe you probably should. Just an FYI. Oh... I did add lemon zest along with the juice, very good! Also used fresh vanilla bean and added 1/4 t of almond extract. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
The taste of this cheesecake is divine but the texture is all wrong no matter how I make it. Its so mushy I can't cut it even after refrigerating over night. I even tried an extra egg but that didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
High altitude trials: I live at 5600+ ft. You MUST increase the flour & corn starch or it's too watery. I tried 4 Tbl each, and it was still too creamy in the center. Suggest a total of 9.5 Tbl total of equal parts flour and corn starch. Have used almost an identical recipe at near sea level, and it got rave reviews. All cakes must use more flour, or adjust eggs, flour, and decrease liquids, at high altitudes. Also, have used 2 tsp of grated lemon peel for additional zest with great success. Delicious cake, and can't wait to figure out what works for me, then 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
First time ever making a cheesecake and it was easy to do & delicious! I made one tiny adjustment cutting back on the lemon and increasing the vanilla just as a personal preference. Searched around a lot for one containing ricotta and this was perfect, exact taste & consistency we were looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This is by far the most delicate, and delicious cheese cake. As an added touch I add orange zest. My friends give it high reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I followed the recipe to the T. The cake was good but a little wet and gritty. If I cooked it a little more than an hour it probably would have tightened up but why do you think it was gritty? Patsy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
My husband loves this cake! I've made it several times. I omit the flour and add another T. cornstarch to make it gluten free for my daughter who has celiacs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
To die for! And so easy. I had no idea that it would be so easy to make. Definitely a day-before project, since it takes so long to cool. But only a short amount of my time to prepare. Fabulous! And I cut and froze remaining portions for a later date!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States