New York Italian Style Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly as written. To me, this cheesecake didn't have a lot of flavor and had a grainy texture. I think that possibly it would have been better if served warm, but the lack of flavor still was there. If I was to make it again, I would definitely have to add in more lemon and vanilla. Thank you for the experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Great recipe. Mine was a little loose in the middle. I cooked it for the time suggested and added 30 minutes but lowered the oven to 300. Refrigerated over nite but still a little runny. Next time I will up the cornstarch and flour. All in all the best. Husband and kids raved over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
made this last year my hubby hasn't stopped talking about it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherryberry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Perfect to substitute lactose-free products with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
The flavor was unbelievably good, but mine did not set up firmly and was more of a cheesecake "pudding". However, I did use one block of regular cream cheese and one block of low-fat cream cheese, so maybe that was the problem...? I will definitely try this again, perhaps letting it bake an extra 20 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Perfect cheesecake. I didn't have sour cream so I used Greek yogurt, which was very good. The lemon makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ezzell
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
If you don't like a sweet cheese cake this is the one for you.I made the ricotta cheese and made it as low salt as I could and it is good. Not to sweet with a tart from the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ezzell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vatech90
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This cheesecake is wonderful! I've been making another recipe from this site, but decided to try a more "authentic" one. I'm glad I found this one! I'm not sure why others had a problem with the texture or it being too runny. Mine came out smooth as silk and set up perfectly. I turned the oven off after one hour and let it sit for the additional two and when I went to remove it from the oven it was still quite hot. I baked mine in a 10" springform pan and it barely fit. The only thing I did differently was use 16 oz of non-fat greek yogurt instead of the sour cream. I put a triple berry reduction on top with fresh strawberries and dollops of fresh whipped cream. It wasn't overly sweet and the berries were a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
being an Italian from New Jersey I must say this is the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Grainy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCarty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States