New York Italian Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is the best pizza dough recipe I have found. I only let it sit in the refrigerator about 30 mins. and it still turned out really yummy!! I also used a mixer instead of my bread machine. I just find it easier! Thanks for this recipe, I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiselput

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This is the pizza dough recipe I've been looking for! Makes a real New York style pizza. I read a website by a famous New York pizza maker, and he said you had to have a sticky, tacky dough- well, none of the doughs I've made so far have come close until now. Thanks for this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Just enjoying a slice of pie made with this dough recipe, and it's hard not to keep going back and goo-ing up my hands with "one more bite" of it until I finish this review! The quintessential New York pizza has a thin, seared crust layer on the bottom, with light, ethereal bread topped with a thin layer of sauce, cheese, and whatever other items ring your bells. This does not disappoint on any score. This dough stretches easily to supreme thinness when allowed to rest as recommended in the fridge. That's one detraction, that you need to plan ahead. But it can be made and rested for up to 2 days, so no problem. A baking stone is a must for success, as when it's preheated, it will sear the bottom of the crust by instantly drawing out the surface moisture. As for "blandness" that some dislike, remember that a great crust acts as a backdrop for your accoutrements. It's not the star. It is, however, a very important supporting player. If desired, you can flavor it with herbs and/or a few Tb of Parmesan. I found the dough to be too sticky with the proportions listed. Whereas I fully understand that a pizza dough needs as little flour as possible, no way could you work with it, until I added about 1/4 cup of flour, which left it still very sticky, but able to be handled with floured hands. Experiment. You want it sticky, but not quasi-liquid. You're going to love this crust. Second-generation Italian girl here, New York born and raised, and I can tell you, THIS is the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is delicious! it made the Breakfast Pizza from All Recipes taste amazing. both times I made it with this dough, it didn't last past dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jc3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
pre bake the crust before freezing or baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Perfect! I made it with my mixer, I had to add more flour before I put it in a bowl to raise the dough. I only waited 1 hour for it to rise and then I rolled it out. I made separate pizzas and put the dough on the grill. It made a perfect chewy and tasty crust. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.M.Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
The best pizza dough I've tried so far. It's soft, chewy, and shapes greatly. You will easily get thinner, crispier bottom but chewy and soft edge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maggie-Cat
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I make mine WITHOUT a bread machine, and it turns out wonderful. I use the same ingredients listed, though I might add up to a cup more flour depending on the humidity, b/c like the recipe states, this IS very sticky dough. To make by hand, I mixed the yeast and water to proof. Then I added the salt, a tsp or two of sugar (that's my only addition), and mixed in the flour until it was able to be turned out onto a floured surface for kneading. I kneaded for 5-10 minutes. Like the recipe states, the dough will be sticky, so I add just enough flour so that it's able to be handled but that it's also not a "stiff" dough. It should be very pliable and soft like a baby's bottom, like the submitter stated ;-) Then I patted it with oil and let it rise (about 1 hour). I then punched it down and made it into 2 crusts; one 10" round pan and one for a 11x13" rectangle sheet. This dough is easily "tossed" and stretched, so have fun with it! **I prebaked our crusts for about 8 minutes on 450°, until they barely started to have golden edges. Then I topped them and baked for about 10 more minutes, until it "looked" done. The center of our pizzas had a thin, chewy crust, and the big outside edges were delicious with a slight crisp outside, and chewy center. Yum!! Next time I'll get some nacho cheese to use as a dip for our crusts, which were tastier than breadsticks IMO:-) I definitely recommend this dough, it's simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie-Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
really good crust. I found the recipe last minute, mixed it in the bread maker, and didn't have time to let it sit 10 hours. It sat in the fridge for 3 hours. I didn't let it warm up to room temp either. Baked it as instructed and the kids loved it. So, I can't wait to make it ahead of time to get the actual taste of it. If you don't want it doughy this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Wonderful, easy recipe! I doubled it and used half bread flour and half wheat. Only refrigerated for 7 hours. Kids had fun rolling it out, very easy to work with. Paired with Chicago Style Deep Dish recipe on this site... highly recommended! Thanks! Will use over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Chef John's Spelt Pizza Dough

See how to make a gluten-free pizza crust!

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States