New York Italian Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I followed the recipe almost to the letter. I let the dough sit at room temp for only about 1/2 hour, which didn't bring it quite to room temp. My dough was wet and sticky, as the directions said it would be. It was never a "round ball" when I put it into the bowl, it was more like a wet blob, looked kind of like mashed potatoes. It grew too big for my large bowl and spilled out of the bowl in the fridge, but this was not a problem, it wiped off easily. The dough could not be rolled out with a roller because it was too sticky. I found steps 3 and 4 to be a little bit confusing - in 3, the rolling out of the dough on a floured surface and in 4 placing a pizza stone in the oven dusted with flour. (Was I supposed to preheat the stone and then transfer my dough onto the stone?) I stretched out the dough with my hands onto my floured pizza stone The taste was ok after I baked it an additional 2-3 minutes; before that, it tasted doughy. I will give it another try with the dough that's still in the fridge and cook 10 min @ 500. The crust was also thick, not thin, but I did have trouble stretching it out by hand w/o a roller. Another attempt from scratch - I added an additional 1/2-3/4 cup of flour. The dough was less of a mess than last time, but still too sticky to roll out with a rolling pin. The taste was so half. I prebaked the dough the second time. I really wanted to like this recipe, but won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
this is a VERY STICKY DOUGH! I wondered if i had done something wrong but, continued with the recipe. ( i did use about 1 cup or more high gluten flour too though to add a bit more chewy quality) This is a Fantastic recipe for pizza dough, crunchy on the outside (unlike most pizza doughs which stay a bit more like regular bread) and soft inside (not doughy but soft) the closest i have ever found to a pizzeria dough. TRY IT! You'll think your doing it wrong because mine never really formed a ball even after kneading, but just go ahead and let it rise, it totally turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
You are right about the sticky dough. I use my Kitchen Aid mixer (love it). Always use less flour. I just drop in into a warm oiled bowl (I like using garlic infused oil - it adds something). It's not sticky after it rises. It is perfect every time! I like to add ground flax seed, wheat germ, and ground oatmeal. I use my coffee grinder, it adds a nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
GREAT CRUST! This is everything that you would want in a pizza crust...chewy, crunchy, crusty and yummy! Made exactly as written, but I did have to add quite a bit of extra flour, and wasn't sure just when to stop, but finally I did and it came out perfectly. I made two 14-inch pizza crusts from this recipe. I would definately use this recipe again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
YUM!!! I made this tonight used mixer and I only put it in the fridge for about an hour. Still great. My kids ate a whole pizza. My I, folded the crust over string cheese pieces and putt spinach and goat cheese. So good loved the chewy crisp texture. Glad I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
We LOVED this recipe! The dough is super soft and DELISH! I won't use any other recipe now! We didn't have a bread machine, so we did everything by hand and it still worked great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
WOW....This dough was great.......I started to prepare before reading the instuctions and was surpised to find out it was to sit in the fidge for 10 hour.. I used my kitchenaid mixer with an extra cup of flour. I was making for dinner and didn't have anything else for back up, so I had the dough in the fidge only 1 hour and then left it to warm up on the counter for 15 mins. That's all the time I had to spare.I was afraid it wouldn't rise in the fridge, my head kept telling me to put in a warm place. It turn out wonderful!! Can't wait till I have the time to follow the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
We used this for a neighborhood pizza party and got rave reviews! We changed a few things, though: 1) Bake dough at 500 deg. F 2) substituted 1-2 cups of flour with whole wheat flour 3) added dried basil/thyme/oregano to the dough High temp baking was essential for an evenly cooked crust, especially ones loaded with fresh veggies! We only put it in the fridge for 6-7 hours and then it sat out on the counter for an hour before we started making pizzas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Its a little hard to work with and roll out, being so sticky, but turns out delish!! new favorite pizza crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is delicious! it made the Breakfast Pizza from All Recipes taste amazing. both times I made it with this dough, it didn't last past dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jc3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States