New York Italian Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by BronR
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Best recipe for pizza dough I've found so far! Texture is what matters here and this has it. I've made it four times now. First time it was tricky working with but you figure it out. I've added flavors since, doubled it, halved it, it always works! Next time I'm substituting flat beer for half the liquid and see what that does, but I'm really having fun with this! Oh, and always toss it, don't roll it! Takes practice but it's fun and you'll get the hang of it! Awesome recipe! Kudos and thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BronR

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This is a GREAT dough! My kids and hubby loved it. He couldn't figure out why mine turned out so much better than his (it's because I use allrecipes and he doesn't)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffanyB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Nice chewy crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I'll start by saying I have tried making pizza crusts in the past and they have all failed. The middle ends up undercooked and the texture just has never been right. I decided to try this, but instead of mixing in my bread maker, I used my kitchen-aid and doughhook. I turned it out on a large floured surface and it was VERY sticky. I had to add the entire 1/4 cup of addition flour and then some to get it workable. I ended up making my dough very thick, so it didn't turn out thin like NY pizzas usually are, but that was my fault. Baked it on a pizza stone and it turned out AMAZING! The thickness of mine was more like chicago style, but the flavor and texture was great. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Really easy recipe. Came out good will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenn3365

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Great! This was exactly what I was looking for. I halved recipe for 1 large pizza. I added 1/2tsp garlic powder, 1/4tsp onion powder, 1/4tsp oregano & basil to flour. I used a hand mixer with one dough hook, cuz I could only find one, lol. I refrigerated about 1 hour, rolled out and topped with "Exquisite Pizza Sauce" from this site(minus anchovy & honey), pepperoni, ham, mushrooms & mozzarella. I baked at 450 for 15 minutes on metal pizza pan. Delicious!! Soft and slightly chewy! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by limelee7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
First time ever reviewing something but I needed to because this is a superb pizza crust. Love how it made two large pizza's and my friend even told me that it was better than his mother's (who's an awesome cook). Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This dough is the Bomb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBRAGG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Florahome, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Except for the fact that I really have to plan ahead to make this pizza, this is a fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was absolutely impossible to deal with and stretch out on a pizza pan. I just ended up with a sticky mess even after adding a lot more flour. Then it puffed up way too much in the oven and wasn't thin crust at all. Such good ratings on this recipe... I followed it to a t so I'm not sure what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States