New York Italian Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Really easy recipe. Came out good will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenn3365

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Great! This was exactly what I was looking for. I halved recipe for 1 large pizza. I added 1/2tsp garlic powder, 1/4tsp onion powder, 1/4tsp oregano & basil to flour. I used a hand mixer with one dough hook, cuz I could only find one, lol. I refrigerated about 1 hour, rolled out and topped with "Exquisite Pizza Sauce" from this site(minus anchovy & honey), pepperoni, ham, mushrooms & mozzarella. I baked at 450 for 15 minutes on metal pizza pan. Delicious!! Soft and slightly chewy! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
First time ever reviewing something but I needed to because this is a superb pizza crust. Love how it made two large pizza's and my friend even told me that it was better than his mother's (who's an awesome cook). Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This dough is the Bomb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBRAGG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Florahome, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Except for the fact that I really have to plan ahead to make this pizza, this is a fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was absolutely impossible to deal with and stretch out on a pizza pan. I just ended up with a sticky mess even after adding a lot more flour. Then it puffed up way too much in the oven and wasn't thin crust at all. Such good ratings on this recipe... I followed it to a t so I'm not sure what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
pretty good,i will defiently make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I followed the recipe almost to the letter. I let the dough sit at room temp for only about 1/2 hour, which didn't bring it quite to room temp. My dough was wet and sticky, as the directions said it would be. It was never a "round ball" when I put it into the bowl, it was more like a wet blob, looked kind of like mashed potatoes. It grew too big for my large bowl and spilled out of the bowl in the fridge, but this was not a problem, it wiped off easily. The dough could not be rolled out with a roller because it was too sticky. I found steps 3 and 4 to be a little bit confusing - in 3, the rolling out of the dough on a floured surface and in 4 placing a pizza stone in the oven dusted with flour. (Was I supposed to preheat the stone and then transfer my dough onto the stone?) I stretched out the dough with my hands onto my floured pizza stone The taste was ok after I baked it an additional 2-3 minutes; before that, it tasted doughy. I will give it another try with the dough that's still in the fridge and cook 10 min @ 500. The crust was also thick, not thin, but I did have trouble stretching it out by hand w/o a roller. Another attempt from scratch - I added an additional 1/2-3/4 cup of flour. The dough was less of a mess than last time, but still too sticky to roll out with a rolling pin. The taste was so half. I prebaked the dough the second time. I really wanted to like this recipe, but won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
this is a VERY STICKY DOUGH! I wondered if i had done something wrong but, continued with the recipe. ( i did use about 1 cup or more high gluten flour too though to add a bit more chewy quality) This is a Fantastic recipe for pizza dough, crunchy on the outside (unlike most pizza doughs which stay a bit more like regular bread) and soft inside (not doughy but soft) the closest i have ever found to a pizzeria dough. TRY IT! You'll think your doing it wrong because mine never really formed a ball even after kneading, but just go ahead and let it rise, it totally turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
You are right about the sticky dough. I use my Kitchen Aid mixer (love it). Always use less flour. I just drop in into a warm oiled bowl (I like using garlic infused oil - it adds something). It's not sticky after it rises. It is perfect every time! I like to add ground flax seed, wheat germ, and ground oatmeal. I use my coffee grinder, it adds a nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States