New York Italian Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by ItsJeanettic
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Thanks for the reviews! Being a NY Italian gal out in the South, there were few options for a good pie. I have been experimenting for 3-4 yrs, with much advice from NY professionals, horrible flops, many trials & errors...and then success. I have since bought a KitchenAid mixer and its so much better to mix the dough, as those of you who have suggested here have done. Whether you are able to handle it very wet or decide to add a bit more flour...make sure you do the autolyse (sit & soak of the flour) first and keep it 'pancake batter-like' when doing the preliminary mixing of ingredients-- its crucial! Then add more flour and mix or knead for 10-15 mins. :) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItsJeanettic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Tazewell, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Recipe makes A LOT. I used half whole wheat bread dough and made it into a stromboli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This dough is exactly as described. Problem is even with a bread machine, there's no easy way to transfer the finished product from pan to pizza peel, or in and out of the oven without making a messhhn. Its tasty all right, but the difficulty of working with it, earns it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This dough is the ultimate. I will never search for another pizza dough/breadstick dough again as long as I live. It also freezes well. We make a double batch of the dough and save individual pizza-sized balls of dough in ziplock baggies in the freezer, then thaw one whenever we feel like pizza. So easy, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Fantastic pizza dough recipe, nice elasticity to dough and bakes up crispy yet chewy; one of my complaints regarding other recipes is that the crust baked too crisp like a dry old cracker. I baked one crust about 1 hr after refrigerating and the other two crusts a couple of days later. No more takeout pizza for us! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
My husband and I have mastered this recipe! You really have to trust the recipe and keep the dough sticky, do NOT add too much flour. We let it sit in the fridge for 36 hours and it was perfect. We brought it to room temp, rolled out, and topped. We can't wait to show off for our friends! My husband has even perfected the dough toss in the air. Pizzaria style at home! By the way, I make this dough in my stand mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Love this recipe. Kids won't let it sit in fridge for more than 4 hours and it still tastes amazing. I add a tsp of sugar (to make up for shorting the chemical reaction that would happen over 10 hours). My family loves garlic, so I use about a tsp of crushed garlic, add some italian seasoning as well (all to the water in bread machine). Makes one amazing pizza and a whole bunch of cheese sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Excellent pizza dough. I have been making pizza for years with the bread machine and my dough always came out bread like. It was really good but I wanted a chewier texture and this was just what I was looking for. I even mess up on the putting a little too much extra flour and it was harder to roll out but it still came out fantastic. I can't wait to try it and do it the right way. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maggie-Cat
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I make mine WITHOUT a bread machine, and it turns out wonderful. I use the same ingredients listed, though I might add up to a cup more flour depending on the humidity, b/c like the recipe states, this IS very sticky dough. To make by hand, I mixed the yeast and water to proof. Then I added the salt, a tsp or two of sugar (that's my only addition), and mixed in the flour until it was able to be turned out onto a floured surface for kneading. I kneaded for 5-10 minutes. Like the recipe states, the dough will be sticky, so I add just enough flour so that it's able to be handled but that it's also not a "stiff" dough. It should be very pliable and soft like a baby's bottom, like the submitter stated ;-) Then I patted it with oil and let it rise (about 1 hour). I then punched it down and made it into 2 crusts; one 10" round pan and one for a 11x13" rectangle sheet. This dough is easily "tossed" and stretched, so have fun with it! **I prebaked our crusts for about 8 minutes on 450°, until they barely started to have golden edges. Then I topped them and baked for about 10 more minutes, until it "looked" done. The center of our pizzas had a thin, chewy crust, and the big outside edges were delicious with a slight crisp outside, and chewy center. Yum!! Next time I'll get some nacho cheese to use as a dip for our crusts, which were tastier than breadsticks IMO:-) I definitely recommend this dough, it's simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie-Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Very simple, good flavor and texture! I didn't let mine proof overnight in the fridge but I will next time. I had it in the fridge about 2 hours. The dough was pretty soft, but still workable. Not exactly like the pizza I grew up with in NJ but better than what's here in GA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Louisville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States