New York Italian Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I am so happy that I tried this recipe because I absolutely love it.I like to roll out the crust as thin as I can and then bake the pizza at 450 for 16 minutes.It will then slide off the baking sheet onto my granite counter top where I can cut it and let it cool for 5 minutes.I use cornmeal on bottom of the pizza and the crust tastes like you went out for pizza,just perfect.A good crust with a great chew.When I make this I have enough dough for 2 big 16 inch pizzas.Bake one and freeze the second crust in a round ball shape.When you`re ready to use the frozen crust just defrost and roll it out and it`s perfect.What a great find for me as I have been looking for a better pizza crust than the bread-like crust that I have been using for 25 years.I will never use another crust.Almost forgot to add that when I mix for 10 minutes in my mixer you need to add more flour because the mix is very wet and sticky.I pour it out on floured top and keep adding flour(about 1-1 and a half cups)until it gets so you can handle it and kneed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I am surprised I tried this, as I have been making another wildly popular pizza dough from this site for my pizza needs and have been happy with it. I am glad I tried this, though, because it is most definitely my go-to dough from now on. This is EXACTLY what I have been looking for- a beautiful, tasty thin crust...my favorite type of pizza! I wish I had read down to the Cook's Note before I made this, as I ended up adding more flour than I probably should have. This dough is VERY sticky and it IS impossible to work it with your hands...next time I will add the full amount of flour to the bread machine right from the beginning, and then simply dump it in the bowl...there really is no way to knead this by hand. In any event, it turned out fantastic even with the extra flour, and I will be making this over and over again. As for that other recipe- I will still use that for breadsticks and garlic knobs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
If I could give this a 10-Star rating, I would. I have been making pizza dough for years and have tried many different recipes with virtually all of the same ingredients. This one is, by far, the most flavorful of any recipe I have ever tried. Who knew that keeping the dough overnight in the refrigerator would develop such an amazing flavor? I used my Kitchen Aid for mixing and most of the kneading. Then, I finished up the kneading by hand. After resting the dough in the fridge, overnight, I made two 13-inch pizzas. Amazingly Delicious! Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Ignacio, Cayo District, Belize
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Beautiful!! Prepared this today in my kitchen aid mixer. Kept reminding myself that the batter will be very sticky. Proofed the yeast in one cup of the water adding a Tablespoon of sugar. After it proofed, I poured it into the mixing bowl adding the rest of the liquid ingredients. Replaced the beater with the dough hook & gradually added the rest of the flour kneading on speed 2 for another 8 minutes. I did add more flour than the recipe called for.This dough will not clean the sides of the bowl. It will look like a very thick pancake batter. On a heavily floured board I emptied my sticky dough. I kneaded it adding more flour until it barely held its shape. Placed it in an oiled bowl rotating it so the oil covered all of it. Into the fridge it went covered with a towel. Next day I removed it from the fridge and punched it down. Left it on the counter for about 3 hrs to take the chill out. I was detained & could not work on it as planned so I punched it down as it rose. Had to do this twice till I finally was able to shape it by patting it onto my pans & bake it. I had the oven preheated to 450 & semi baked the crusts for 9 min. on lowest rack. After cooling the crusts, I froze all of them except for one...my tester. I topped it with sauce & cheese. Into a 450 oven for about 12 min. on the lowest rack. Oh, I did add 1 Teas. of Garlic Powder & dried basil to the flour before mixing. That sticky dough rivals a tasty authentic Pizza even without a Pizza Stone. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Take it from an Italian from New York... This is as good as it gets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkburnette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I don't have a bread machine OR a stand mixer, so I had a go at this by hand. I've been making bread by hand for years, so I followed classic bread making technique (add the yeast to the warm water and allow it to bloom for 10 min before adding the flour). It is no joke that this dough is wet and sticky, and thanks to the crazy humidity today, it was even wetter and stickier. Honestly, it was a bit of a pain to knead by hand, and I ended up having to add 1/2 cup extra bread flour just to make it manageable, but I left it as sticky as possible. After 10 min of kneading, I let it rise for 30 min at room temp before putting it in the fridge. Before I put it in the fridge, I cut off a small ball of dough and made my daughter a small personal-sized pizza. It was a bit of a trial and error situation to get her pizza made since the dough was still quite sticky, but we ended up just stretching it out right on our pizza stone. I baked it at 425 for 15 min and it came out PERFECT. Crisp on the bottom and chewy in the middle. She gobbled it up. This recipe was TOTALLY worth the sticky fingers. I'm anxious to I make my husband and myself our pizzas after the dough has had time to sit in the fridge. This is officially my go-to pizza dough recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DownHomeGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
PERFECTION! My track record with pizza dough in the past has been "iffy". NO MORE! Thanks for posting a fail-proof delicious recipe! Changes: only used Kitchen- aid stand mixer- set at "2" to knead for 10 minutes, then added the last 1/4 cup of flour a few spoons at a time into mixer still set at "2" until dough forms into ball , just a few more minutes. Also, used packet of yeast, not the exact measurement. Used "Red Star" active dry yeast, was careful with temperature of water, used King Arther bread flour. As recipe explained, this is a wet and sticky dough, no fear! Just work it with your hands into the shape of your pan (didn't use rolling pin) and let gravity help you stretch it. It rarely tore, and when it did, a little patch of dough was an easy fix. dont forget to oil your hands! Recipe easily doubled, made 2 large and 3 medium pizzas. cooked pepperoni pizzas 500* 10 minutes in oven, 13 min for loaded toppings pizza. Happily noticed the pizza dough kept rising as pizza's were on dining room table waiting for oven! Flavor:excellent! used standard spaghetti sauce, Italian seasoning, garlic powder, olive oil brushed on edges before baking. Have you tried barbecue pizza? For that one used KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce for the base, seasoned/cooked/drained lean ground beef, & Cheddar cheese. Family thinks I am a hero, and the secret is really this recipe and my trusty Kitchen Aid stand mixer! God Bless the lady that posted this recipe, it has renewed my confidence!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This was great. When I made it the night before to have it for lunch, the crust was puffy and crispy- looked very good! I believe it is better to rest it overnight or 8hrs because when I only rest it for 4hrs, the result was not the same. They were still good but not as puffy and crispy. I'll plan better and make them for dinner! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Best pizza crust my wife and I have eaten in a long time. This crust turns out like the authentic italian pizza style. We use garlic alfredo sauce and four cheeses to get the best pizza we have had in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Absolutely fantastic! I didn't have time to set it in the refrigerator for 10 hours so I just let it rise and made my pizza. I also did not have bread flour so I used all purpose. I bought the right flour now and can't wait to do it again. I have tried multiple recipes, but this is the best by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States