New York Italian Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I don't have a bread machine OR a stand mixer, so I had a go at this by hand. I've been making bread by hand for years, so I followed classic bread making technique (add the yeast to the warm water and allow it to bloom for 10 min before adding the flour). It is no joke that this dough is wet and sticky, and thanks to the crazy humidity today, it was even wetter and stickier. Honestly, it was a bit of a pain to knead by hand, and I ended up having to add 1/2 cup extra bread flour just to make it manageable, but I left it as sticky as possible. After 10 min of kneading, I let it rise for 30 min at room temp before putting it in the fridge. Before I put it in the fridge, I cut off a small ball of dough and made my daughter a small personal-sized pizza. It was a bit of a trial and error situation to get her pizza made since the dough was still quite sticky, but we ended up just stretching it out right on our pizza stone. I baked it at 425 for 15 min and it came out PERFECT. Crisp on the bottom and chewy in the middle. She gobbled it up. This recipe was TOTALLY worth the sticky fingers. I'm anxious to I make my husband and myself our pizzas after the dough has had time to sit in the fridge. This is officially my go-to pizza dough recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DownHomeGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
PERFECTION! My track record with pizza dough in the past has been "iffy". NO MORE! Thanks for posting a fail-proof delicious recipe! Changes: only used Kitchen- aid stand mixer- set at "2" to knead for 10 minutes, then added the last 1/4 cup of flour a few spoons at a time into mixer still set at "2" until dough forms into ball , just a few more minutes. Also, used packet of yeast, not the exact measurement. Used "Red Star" active dry yeast, was careful with temperature of water, used King Arther bread flour. As recipe explained, this is a wet and sticky dough, no fear! Just work it with your hands into the shape of your pan (didn't use rolling pin) and let gravity help you stretch it. It rarely tore, and when it did, a little patch of dough was an easy fix. dont forget to oil your hands! Recipe easily doubled, made 2 large and 3 medium pizzas. cooked pepperoni pizzas 500* 10 minutes in oven, 13 min for loaded toppings pizza. Happily noticed the pizza dough kept rising as pizza's were on dining room table waiting for oven! Flavor:excellent! used standard spaghetti sauce, Italian seasoning, garlic powder, olive oil brushed on edges before baking. Have you tried barbecue pizza? For that one used KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce for the base, seasoned/cooked/drained lean ground beef, & Cheddar cheese. Family thinks I am a hero, and the secret is really this recipe and my trusty Kitchen Aid stand mixer! God Bless the lady that posted this recipe, it has renewed my confidence!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This was great. When I made it the night before to have it for lunch, the crust was puffy and crispy- looked very good! I believe it is better to rest it overnight or 8hrs because when I only rest it for 4hrs, the result was not the same. They were still good but not as puffy and crispy. I'll plan better and make them for dinner! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Best pizza crust my wife and I have eaten in a long time. This crust turns out like the authentic italian pizza style. We use garlic alfredo sauce and four cheeses to get the best pizza we have had in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Absolutely fantastic! I didn't have time to set it in the refrigerator for 10 hours so I just let it rise and made my pizza. I also did not have bread flour so I used all purpose. I bought the right flour now and can't wait to do it again. I have tried multiple recipes, but this is the best by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
great pizza crust dough recipe!!! i used this to make stuffed mexican pizzas for cinco de mayo and they turned out fabulously. i decided to pre-bake them at 425 for about 10 minutes earlier in the day, and then assembled the pizzas. once everyone was there i was able to just pop them in the oven to heat through. this made enough dough for two 10-inch deep dish pizza stones. very very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Great! I have made this several times now and learned that while the dough can be used just about immediately, the flavor is really good if you wait a day to use it...and the flavor of the dough is AMAZING when we let it sit in the fridge for two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Following this recipe to the letter = one awesome pizza! My family raved about my pizza last night and asked for more. This is the BEST pizza dough recipe I have come across in my 15 year search for authentic pizzaria at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Not BCrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
When I put this in the refrigerator, it was still very sticky. I thought there's be no way I could work with it. I only refrigerated it about 1 1/2 hours. It was easy to work with and tasted GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This is a great crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States