New York Italian Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is a great recipe. I make my crust really thin so I am able to get two 16 inch pies out it. I bake the crust by itself first also. We like ours extra crispy. This is my favorite pizza dough recipe so far. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Just what I was looking for; crispy, chewy deliciousness! My Kitchenaid mixer gets a frequent workout with this recipe. After sitting in the fridge, I wrap up some of the dough in plastic wrap and freeze it. No worries about freezer burn, because I'll use it within a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I made this two days ago and wanted pizza that night, I left it sit out for one hour and then made 2 pizzas. I had enough dough for another pizza and so I left that in the fridge for two days and today made a pizza for lunch. The pizza made that day was fine, but leaving it in the fridge for two days and preheating my pizza stone... welllll, that was the best pizza I've ever had! So crisp and light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carsonsmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverlodge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Hythe, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Making this dough without a mixer or bread macine is not for wimps. I prepared this dough last night using only a bowl, spatula, & some serious muscle. As the cook's note indicates, the douh is too sticky to handle with your hands so I did the mixing/ kneading with a spatula. There was one reviewer who added 1/2c more flour to be able to handle the dough with her hands, but I successfuly managed add about only 1/4c & still manage. (I could have managed with less added flour but I was following the instructions.) Once I was done with all the mixing, i sprinkled some flour on my counter & scraped the dough out of the bowl onto the counter. I floured my hands to flip the dough over & shape it into a ball. Afterwards, I picked it up & put it in an oiled bowl & moved the bowl arouond to oil up the whole ball & viola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I am so happy that I tried this recipe because I absolutely love it.I like to roll out the crust as thin as I can and then bake the pizza at 450 for 16 minutes.It will then slide off the baking sheet onto my granite counter top where I can cut it and let it cool for 5 minutes.I use cornmeal on bottom of the pizza and the crust tastes like you went out for pizza,just perfect.A good crust with a great chew.When I make this I have enough dough for 2 big 16 inch pizzas.Bake one and freeze the second crust in a round ball shape.When you`re ready to use the frozen crust just defrost and roll it out and it`s perfect.What a great find for me as I have been looking for a better pizza crust than the bread-like crust that I have been using for 25 years.I will never use another crust.Almost forgot to add that when I mix for 10 minutes in my mixer you need to add more flour because the mix is very wet and sticky.I pour it out on floured top and keep adding flour(about 1-1 and a half cups)until it gets so you can handle it and kneed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I am surprised I tried this, as I have been making another wildly popular pizza dough from this site for my pizza needs and have been happy with it. I am glad I tried this, though, because it is most definitely my go-to dough from now on. This is EXACTLY what I have been looking for- a beautiful, tasty thin crust...my favorite type of pizza! I wish I had read down to the Cook's Note before I made this, as I ended up adding more flour than I probably should have. This dough is VERY sticky and it IS impossible to work it with your hands...next time I will add the full amount of flour to the bread machine right from the beginning, and then simply dump it in the bowl...there really is no way to knead this by hand. In any event, it turned out fantastic even with the extra flour, and I will be making this over and over again. As for that other recipe- I will still use that for breadsticks and garlic knobs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
If I could give this a 10-Star rating, I would. I have been making pizza dough for years and have tried many different recipes with virtually all of the same ingredients. This one is, by far, the most flavorful of any recipe I have ever tried. Who knew that keeping the dough overnight in the refrigerator would develop such an amazing flavor? I used my Kitchen Aid for mixing and most of the kneading. Then, I finished up the kneading by hand. After resting the dough in the fridge, overnight, I made two 13-inch pizzas. Amazingly Delicious! Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Ignacio, Cayo District, Belize
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Beautiful!! Prepared this today in my kitchen aid mixer. Kept reminding myself that the batter will be very sticky. Proofed the yeast in one cup of the water adding a Tablespoon of sugar. After it proofed, I poured it into the mixing bowl adding the rest of the liquid ingredients. Replaced the beater with the dough hook & gradually added the rest of the flour kneading on speed 2 for another 8 minutes. I did add more flour than the recipe called for.This dough will not clean the sides of the bowl. It will look like a very thick pancake batter. On a heavily floured board I emptied my sticky dough. I kneaded it adding more flour until it barely held its shape. Placed it in an oiled bowl rotating it so the oil covered all of it. Into the fridge it went covered with a towel. Next day I removed it from the fridge and punched it down. Left it on the counter for about 3 hrs to take the chill out. I was detained & could not work on it as planned so I punched it down as it rose. Had to do this twice till I finally was able to shape it by patting it onto my pans & bake it. I had the oven preheated to 450 & semi baked the crusts for 9 min. on lowest rack. After cooling the crusts, I froze all of them except for one...my tester. I topped it with sauce & cheese. Into a 450 oven for about 12 min. on the lowest rack. Oh, I did add 1 Teas. of Garlic Powder & dried basil to the flour before mixing. That sticky dough rivals a tasty authentic Pizza even without a Pizza Stone. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Take it from an Italian from New York... This is as good as it gets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkburnette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I don't have a bread machine OR a stand mixer, so I had a go at this by hand. I've been making bread by hand for years, so I followed classic bread making technique (add the yeast to the warm water and allow it to bloom for 10 min before adding the flour). It is no joke that this dough is wet and sticky, and thanks to the crazy humidity today, it was even wetter and stickier. Honestly, it was a bit of a pain to knead by hand, and I ended up having to add 1/2 cup extra bread flour just to make it manageable, but I left it as sticky as possible. After 10 min of kneading, I let it rise for 30 min at room temp before putting it in the fridge. Before I put it in the fridge, I cut off a small ball of dough and made my daughter a small personal-sized pizza. It was a bit of a trial and error situation to get her pizza made since the dough was still quite sticky, but we ended up just stretching it out right on our pizza stone. I baked it at 425 for 15 min and it came out PERFECT. Crisp on the bottom and chewy in the middle. She gobbled it up. This recipe was TOTALLY worth the sticky fingers. I'm anxious to I make my husband and myself our pizzas after the dough has had time to sit in the fridge. This is officially my go-to pizza dough recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DownHomeGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Chef John's Spelt Pizza Dough

See how to make a gluten-free pizza crust!

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States