New York Italian Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This is the best pizza dough ever.I halved the recipe &made 3 thin crust 10"pizza margherita.the only thing I could not find right in this recipe was the baking time.it says 6-8min, with the topping, while it took 35-40min to bake &get fully crisp bottom.Also I did everything with mixer for kneading dough, had proofed yeast earlier with 1tsp sugar.No problems with the dough.Had refrigerated(frozen)the rest of 2halves after once risen for later use.but the timing stated in the recipe for baking is ridiculous.Else it's a perfect recipe. Also I used all purpose with 1tbsp gluten per cup, didn't have bread flour. Still had amazing results. Thanks.but please correct the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsooo1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
OMG! OMG! OMG! This recipe is AMAZING!!!!!! The only thing I did different was use bottled spring water as suggested by another reviewer and, as I bite into each slice, I feel as if I have been transported home. What an amazing recipe - oh I said that already. The recipe did make a lot more dough than I expected but I have no complaints. Pizza for a few days, in many variations, is on the menu. And perhaps some fried dough. Thank you for sharing this recipe. Pizza is one of my favorite foods and something that I have been missing since I moved to the Midwest. This is amazing - there will never be another take-out pizza in my life again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Oh my goodness!! SO good. Made for the first time tonight. Was very easy. I only refrigerated for 30 min like another reviewer said they did and it was still excellent. I made it into stuffed crust adding strips of mozzarella cheese and wrapping the edges over. I then brushed garlic butter to the edge. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Best pizza ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This is the cure for the endless string of pizza dough disappointment! I halved the recipe, used a heavy pizza pan sprinkled with semolina flour instead of a pizza stone, and baked for 15 minutes at 500 F. Forget about all the other pizza dough recipes that let you down with mediocre results; this is the one to rule them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Did NOT enjoy this pizza crust. It took almost two extra cups of flour for the dough to be thicker than cake batter. The end result was so-so. I will stick with my other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
So easy! Didn't read the recipe good enough...... refridgerate for 10 hours. Only did for 1 hour. It was still great. Will try it the right way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is a great recipe. I make my crust really thin so I am able to get two 16 inch pies out it. I bake the crust by itself first also. We like ours extra crispy. This is my favorite pizza dough recipe so far. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Just what I was looking for; crispy, chewy deliciousness! My Kitchenaid mixer gets a frequent workout with this recipe. After sitting in the fridge, I wrap up some of the dough in plastic wrap and freeze it. No worries about freezer burn, because I'll use it within a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I made this two days ago and wanted pizza that night, I left it sit out for one hour and then made 2 pizzas. I had enough dough for another pizza and so I left that in the fridge for two days and today made a pizza for lunch. The pizza made that day was fine, but leaving it in the fridge for two days and preheating my pizza stone... welllll, that was the best pizza I've ever had! So crisp and light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carsonsmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverlodge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Hythe, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States