New York Italian Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I am curious to know if anyone has tried making breadsticks with this dough. If so why temp do you bake them at? I would think not as high as the pizza but not sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
We really liked this dough, but it was a bit much for our 14" pizza stone...way more dough than necessary. Also the final part of the directions is a bit conflicting and once you manipulate the dough and put it on a surface, it's almost impossible to manipulate again. I adjusted the recipe to 5 servings and that made just the right amount of dough for a 14" pizza. It was so easy to work with and I just laid it right on the hot pizza stone. Do not lay this on a floured surface and then try to put it on a stone unless it's a smaller pizza and can be picked up. I'm still giving it a 5 because it's still a very good crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Great flavor. It's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I have been researching this for a long time and my favorite is Apizza Scholls, who make a ciabatta like crust, with minimum 24 hours prep, baked at 750F and they close the doors when the dough is gone! There is no rushing perfection. Leave out the oil on most of these dough recipes and they will all make this most excellent pizza with a perfect crunchy outside and wonderfully airy/chewy inside. This is definitely the closest, I change this by waking up the yeast with about 1/3-1/4 the warm water for 20-30 min and adding the salt to the remaining water so it is all mixed in perfectly. Then add everything together inj the bowl and stir by hand. Add flour a sprinkle at a time until it can ball up, then transfer to the oiled bowl. Set at Room Temp for 1-1.5 hours, covered with plastic, then into the fridge overnite. I have used this dough out 5 days, always on a pre-heated stone at max temp, mine is 500F and I check the stone with a laser temperature gun. if you are making more than one, it needs time to re-heat back to 500F! On any pizza, this is the best crust, look up Apizza Scholls menu for a copy of their recipes, But try the Bacon Bianca – Whole milk mozzarella, pecorino romano/grana padano, lots of fresh garlic, herbs, black pepper, extra virgin olive oil and our house cured bacon *NO Sauce. (use thin bacon)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This is the best pizza dough ever.I halved the recipe &made 3 thin crust 10"pizza margherita.the only thing I could not find right in this recipe was the baking time.it says 6-8min, with the topping, while it took 35-40min to bake &get fully crisp bottom.Also I did everything with mixer for kneading dough, had proofed yeast earlier with 1tsp sugar.No problems with the dough.Had refrigerated(frozen)the rest of 2halves after once risen for later use.but the timing stated in the recipe for baking is ridiculous.Else it's a perfect recipe. Also I used all purpose with 1tbsp gluten per cup, didn't have bread flour. Still had amazing results. Thanks.but please correct the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsooo1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
OMG! OMG! OMG! This recipe is AMAZING!!!!!! The only thing I did different was use bottled spring water as suggested by another reviewer and, as I bite into each slice, I feel as if I have been transported home. What an amazing recipe - oh I said that already. The recipe did make a lot more dough than I expected but I have no complaints. Pizza for a few days, in many variations, is on the menu. And perhaps some fried dough. Thank you for sharing this recipe. Pizza is one of my favorite foods and something that I have been missing since I moved to the Midwest. This is amazing - there will never be another take-out pizza in my life again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Oh my goodness!! SO good. Made for the first time tonight. Was very easy. I only refrigerated for 30 min like another reviewer said they did and it was still excellent. I made it into stuffed crust adding strips of mozzarella cheese and wrapping the edges over. I then brushed garlic butter to the edge. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Best pizza ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This is the cure for the endless string of pizza dough disappointment! I halved the recipe, used a heavy pizza pan sprinkled with semolina flour instead of a pizza stone, and baked for 15 minutes at 500 F. Forget about all the other pizza dough recipes that let you down with mediocre results; this is the one to rule them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Did NOT enjoy this pizza crust. It took almost two extra cups of flour for the dough to be thicker than cake batter. The end result was so-so. I will stick with my other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States