New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I have been making this recipe for a while now and I must admit it's become my favorite. I think it's involved but oh so worth it. Sometimes I like to add a hint of almond extract in the sour cream topping. This is the one time I allow myself to splurge on such a decadent dessert. I would give this more than 5 stars if possible because it is THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I am a little nervous . I followed this recipe word by word. After pouring the sou cream mixture over the cake, I baked it for 5 minutes as it says in the recipe. My concern is that when I took it out of the oven it looks very runny. Is it suppose to do that and will it firm up in the refrigerator. Other than that it looks like a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I have to admit, I did not use the cream of tartar...but this cheesecake was sooooo delicious and did not last long at all....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marniekate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Very smooth, no hard areas, perfect uncracked top, fantastic flavor. DO include the cream of tartar. I baked mine the full 50 minutes in a water bath, then put on the sour cream topping, left it in the oven 5 min., then cracked the door and let it cool. I admit I used vanilla wafers for the crust because I like 'em better. I don't like my cheesecake to be "cakey," I like it totally smooth and this recipe is the one I'll use for the rest of my life. Kitchen Queen, you rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I have made this cheesecake three times in the last month! I did however, change it up a bit...I substituted Almond Extract for the Vanilla...Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlingCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilkinson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Excellent Go no further Do not leave this cheesecake in the oven once done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Yes, it's easy. But it didn't have that great cheesecake flavor. It's not bad, just not perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This cheesecake is fabulous! I've never rated anything on allrecipes until now. You've got to try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
My family raved about this cheesecake and couldn't believe that it was homemade. I was told to "keep this recipe!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Best cheesecake I've ever had. I made it gluten-free with a pecan/butter/sugar crust. The filling is creamy and rich, everything you'd want in a cheesecake! You've got to try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States