New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I have been making this recipe for a while now and I must admit it's become my favorite. I think it's involved but oh so worth it. Sometimes I like to add a hint of almond extract in the sour cream topping. This is the one time I allow myself to splurge on such a decadent dessert. I would give this more than 5 stars if possible because it is THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I am a little nervous . I followed this recipe word by word. After pouring the sou cream mixture over the cake, I baked it for 5 minutes as it says in the recipe. My concern is that when I took it out of the oven it looks very runny. Is it suppose to do that and will it firm up in the refrigerator. Other than that it looks like a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I have to admit, I did not use the cream of tartar...but this cheesecake was sooooo delicious and did not last long at all....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marniekate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Very smooth, no hard areas, perfect uncracked top, fantastic flavor. DO include the cream of tartar. I baked mine the full 50 minutes in a water bath, then put on the sour cream topping, left it in the oven 5 min., then cracked the door and let it cool. I admit I used vanilla wafers for the crust because I like 'em better. I don't like my cheesecake to be "cakey," I like it totally smooth and this recipe is the one I'll use for the rest of my life. Kitchen Queen, you rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I have made this cheesecake three times in the last month! I did however, change it up a bit...I substituted Almond Extract for the Vanilla...Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlingCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilkinson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Excellent Go no further Do not leave this cheesecake in the oven once done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Yes, it's easy. But it didn't have that great cheesecake flavor. It's not bad, just not perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This cheesecake is fabulous! I've never rated anything on allrecipes until now. You've got to try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
My family raved about this cheesecake and couldn't believe that it was homemade. I was told to "keep this recipe!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Best cheesecake I've ever had. I made it gluten-free with a pecan/butter/sugar crust. The filling is creamy and rich, everything you'd want in a cheesecake! You've got to try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States