New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This worked perfectly for me, though I skipped the cream of tartar. I think it is the baking technique more than anything that makes this a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breinn Robert
Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: Montague, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I would give this recipe more stars...it was excellent! My husband and I have eaten cheesecake all over the US and this one goes toe to toe with a bg name in Chicago! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I volunteer at a local hospice unit and I brought this cheesecake with me today and served it with blueberry pie topping. It was gone in a flash. So creamy and delish. I will make this again. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Kennedy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This is very good, foolproof recipe. I made/baked it exactly as directed (no water bath, no leaving in the oven, nothing) except I always use less sugar even though I am crazy about sugar and everything it goes into, but all recipes usually call for way too much of it. 1/8 cup sugar to the crust, 3/4 or less to the cream cheese mix, 1/3 or less to the sour cream mix. But it will taste all right if made with all sugar too :o) If you are going to put sweet fruit topping on top, you may want to use less sugar in the cake. I also never have a cream of tartar, bummer, I just put 1 tsp lemon juice. Do not over beat eggs! No cracks ever! But it wouldn't matter because you're going to cover it with sour cream. I baked it longer the first time because it was wobbly in the middle, then I baked longer than 5 minutes with sour cream mix on top, but you don't have to do it, 50 and 5 minutes is enough. Anyway, even over-baked it tasted great. I don't think you can ruin this excellent recipe. You don't have to be a perfect baker to make this cake, takes minutes to mix everything up, so easy, thank you so much! P.S. I made it dozens of times, comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This recipe has really become a hit with us. First made it as a groom's cake for a wedding a few weeks ago. Topped with a champagne maserated fresh blueberry topping. Then made it again with my fresh strawberries and strawberry all fruit jam champagne reduction with just a touch of powdered sugar and melted butter topping. Took a couple of spoonfuls of the strawberry mixture and folded them into the sour cream mixture just before baking. The folks at work devoured the cheesecake in no time flat. Now, have to make it again for Christmas Eve with the whole family gathering. I am not so good at pastry, more a savory cook, but this is now a new family tradition. Also, added the zest of a small lemon to the sour cream mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
My family LOVES this cheesecake. It may seem complicated but its easier than it looks. The 1 trick i used was to leave the cheesecake in the oven after its done baking. I simply turn off the oven and open the door half way. I leave it for 2hrs or so then place in the fridge. No cracks every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Copley, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
i've made dozen of cheese cake recipes & this one is so Delicious. IT'S A 100+ RATING. It's creamy , perfect flavor. Years ago I was at Lindy's and had their Cheesecake, this one tops .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Best cheesecake ever! No store bought cake will ever measure up to my own cooking with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
In my recent move, I've lost the book I keep all of my treasured recipes. Thank you Kitchen Queen. I have my recipe back. Unlike some of the other reviewers, my cake turned out perfect! I've never put my cheesecake in a water bath. It did not curdle or crack. I followed the directions exactly. This is my husband's favorite dessert and I made it for his birthday. He LOVED it. Thanks again. This is definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkrek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This cheesecake is perfect..my BF was craving cheesecake for the fourth of July and I found this one!!! It is DELISH and so EASY. The only thing I changed..was that I baked the crust first, (for 15min..at 325'.) I followed the rest of the recipe as it is. Later we topped it with Cherry pie filling which I added a bit of almond extract to!!! SOOOOOO GOOD!!!!! Thanks so much:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States