New York Cheesecake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Best Cheesecake I have ever made and I will make another one in November!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Yep, Sandy is right. This is the definitive cheesecake recipe. It is seriously perfect, just as written, for a basic recipe. I made it just as written the first time and my 5 stars are based on that. However, for my personal taste, I'm adding a bit of vanilla and I made a graham cracker crust for it this time (2nd time), but I have never tried a cheesecake recipe that turned out so beautifully and I think I have tried every one out there. Thank goodness this one doesn't require a water bath! My oven only goes as low as 250F, so I just baked it for about 52 minutes on 250F instead of 60 on 200F. It turned out great! Thank you so much for sharing this Sandy!! Update: I figured out why mine cracked twice and just wanted to share this. If you do the crust flat, the cheesecake will crack. If you squish the crust up the side of the pan, the cake seems to lean inwards when it is cooling, just enough to keep the cake from cracking. This is the most awesome cheesecake recipe ever. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Araki
Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This is a great recipe. I did read the comments and review and I made a perfect cheesecake the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
it came out perfect. Nice and dense. Very filling. Im not a huge fan of the crust but that did not stop everyone from making this cheesecake disappear.Recipe was clear and easy to follow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jocyclops

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
The taste of this recipe is great! I followed these directions all the way until the cooking time. I left it in the oven about 1.15 hours and then 1 hour sitting in the hot oven. Its been in the fridge since yesterday and its still not set. Its very eggy in the middle. Im disapointed because all the reviews rave! I am going to try making it again with fewer eggs, no one likes soupy cheesecake. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Ok, all the mistakes I made were my own fault. I've never made a 'real' cheesecake (usually just no-bake), but I'm a decent baker. I'm a crazy cheesecake lover, though. So, there's my cred. LOL I made this cheesecake according to the recipe, without any additions. I eliminated 1/3 of the crust and only put it on the bottom. It turned out delicious, and next time I'll probably put it up the sides a little. I might add a little vanilla to it too. The cheesecake scared me with the wiggly middle, but I took it out after doing exactly what the recipe called for and put it in the frig. It was smooth on top, no cracking, some browning on the edges, but beautiful overall. I let it sit in the frig for about 4 hours and HAD TO HAVE SOME. The middle was a bit runny and the outside eggy. However, it was still ok. THEN, I just got some this morning, after allowing it to sit in the frig all night and it's not runny or eggy!!!! It's amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Very tasty and rich, I like mine with oreo crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This cheesecake is amazing. It tastes professional and I am a cheesecake snob. I LOVE a dense New York style cheesecake! Mine had gigantic cracks but I will try a water bath next time. The recipe makes too much shortbread. Other than that, wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I made this for a pot lock at work . They loved it so good I heard and can I have the recipe? I made this for my family also and they said why don't I make this more often? Thanks for posting this 5 star chesse cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I think this recipe is amazing! This is my third time making cheesecake, my first was using a different recipe and turned out an absolute disaster! My second time, I used this recipe and the cheesecake was delicious! It was gone in a matter of 2 days! The only thing I would recommend to fellow newbie bakers is to make sure to not overbake this cheesecake! The cheesecake will still look undercooked, but it WILL firm up in the fridge! As an inexperienced baker, this easy recipe is a godsend. The ingredients were ones that I already had in the house, and right now, as i type this, I am baking this cheesecake in the oven. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States