New York Cheesecake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Cupcake
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I made this several times and it ALWAYS comes out excellent! Everyone loves it and it gets eaten very fast! I follow the directions exactly, let it sit in the oven for at least one hour after I turned it off, then let it chill overnight in the fridge and never had any problems with cracking. Sometimes I use just 1/2 of the ingredients for the filling, to make a smaller cake (heightwise).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I've made this recipe many times - it has become my go-to recipe for cheesecake. I prefer graham cracker or oreo crusts, but this filling is wonderfully dense and rich. My co-workers and family rave over my cheesecake every time I use this recipe for the batter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Great crust. I only gave it 4 stars because it's good, but not as good as a cheesecake recipe I have called THE HEAVY ONE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Best Cheesecake I have ever made and I will make another one in November!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Yep, Sandy is right. This is the definitive cheesecake recipe. It is seriously perfect, just as written, for a basic recipe. I made it just as written the first time and my 5 stars are based on that. However, for my personal taste, I'm adding a bit of vanilla and I made a graham cracker crust for it this time (2nd time), but I have never tried a cheesecake recipe that turned out so beautifully and I think I have tried every one out there. Thank goodness this one doesn't require a water bath! My oven only goes as low as 250F, so I just baked it for about 52 minutes on 250F instead of 60 on 200F. It turned out great! Thank you so much for sharing this Sandy!! Update: I figured out why mine cracked twice and just wanted to share this. If you do the crust flat, the cheesecake will crack. If you squish the crust up the side of the pan, the cake seems to lean inwards when it is cooling, just enough to keep the cake from cracking. This is the most awesome cheesecake recipe ever. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Araki
Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This is a great recipe. I did read the comments and review and I made a perfect cheesecake the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
it came out perfect. Nice and dense. Very filling. Im not a huge fan of the crust but that did not stop everyone from making this cheesecake disappear.Recipe was clear and easy to follow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jocyclops

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
The taste of this recipe is great! I followed these directions all the way until the cooking time. I left it in the oven about 1.15 hours and then 1 hour sitting in the hot oven. Its been in the fridge since yesterday and its still not set. Its very eggy in the middle. Im disapointed because all the reviews rave! I am going to try making it again with fewer eggs, no one likes soupy cheesecake. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Ok, all the mistakes I made were my own fault. I've never made a 'real' cheesecake (usually just no-bake), but I'm a decent baker. I'm a crazy cheesecake lover, though. So, there's my cred. LOL I made this cheesecake according to the recipe, without any additions. I eliminated 1/3 of the crust and only put it on the bottom. It turned out delicious, and next time I'll probably put it up the sides a little. I might add a little vanilla to it too. The cheesecake scared me with the wiggly middle, but I took it out after doing exactly what the recipe called for and put it in the frig. It was smooth on top, no cracking, some browning on the edges, but beautiful overall. I let it sit in the frig for about 4 hours and HAD TO HAVE SOME. The middle was a bit runny and the outside eggy. However, it was still ok. THEN, I just got some this morning, after allowing it to sit in the frig all night and it's not runny or eggy!!!! It's amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Very tasty and rich, I like mine with oreo crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States