New York Cheesecake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I am makeing this for my swimteam awards night. I hope I did a good job on it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Absolutely the best cheesecake ever. I have never had a cheesecake that didnt crack before, no matter what method I used, until this one. No cracks, perfect smooth top. The only alteration I made was to add about a teaspoon and a half of good vanilla and about the same of fresh lemon juice. I could not have asked for a better recipe. This will be the only cheescake I make from now on. Just a couple notes - For those of you that are having problems with it not setting are you using a 10 inch springform pan? If you are using a smaller pan you are definately going to have to increase your baking time. Also, remember to never mix this at a high speed and tap the pan on the counter several times after adding the batter to remove the air bubbles or it will rise and crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
With a few additions, this is THE classic Lindy's Cheesecake recipe. I couldn't put my hands on my mother's copy and didn't want to impose on her to recite it over the phone, so I searched the internet and found this. The only changes I made were (per a phone call to Mom): 1 tsp. lemon zest + 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract to the crust, then adding 1-1/2 tsp. each of lemon and orange zest + 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract to the filling. This may be just the touch for those who complained that it lacked flavor. I wish I'd also asked my mother about the baking time, because I followed this recipe to the letter and didn't worry about the jiggly center. Granted, it appeared to firm up overnight, but upon serving turned out to be a runny mess in the center. I've since consulted my mother's recipe, which calls for 10 minutes @ 500°F, followed by 1 hour + 40 minutes @ 200°F. (Don't open oven door). Other recipes call for 1 hour @ 250°F. A perfect Lindy's should be lightly browned at the edges. A few tips to avoid cracking: add the eggs one at a time, beating just til mixed. Overbeating adds air, which makes the cake rise (then fall and crack) during baking. Slow cooling is also essential. Ideally, it should cool for 2 to 3 hours before refrigerating. Despite the runny center, everyone loved it and kept apologizing for sneaking seconds, then thirds. My New York aunt -- a regular at Lindy's back in the day -- was elated and said this was her first taste of a real Lindy's cheesecake in 50 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Great recipe... Took shortbread out at 10 minutes. added vanilla and almond extract to filling..... baked at 450 for 10 minutes then 325 for 1hr and 50 mins(this is important if you want your cheesecake to be anything other than colorless)....turned off oven let sit inside for 30 mins......PERFECT!!!!!!! no jiggling whatsoever!! let cool on counter for 15 minutes and had to taste a piece.. Fabulous... Do not listen to the negative reviews... If you are a first time cheesecake baker read all reviews and tweek to your standards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I was a little upset with how my first attempt turned out. I decided to follow the instructions to a "T", however, the cooking time just isnt right. I kept it in my over for an extra 40 min, then turned off. The center seemed jiggly as the instructions stated they would be, so i went against my gut and took it out to cool. Guess I shouldve trusted my instinct, because it was very runny in the center of the cake. This cake couldve cooked for a good 2 hrs or more, or with an increased temp. Mine was far from browning, so im sure it couldve gone in at a higher temp and been ok. Not sure if ill attempt again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanierj83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
The taste is right on, exactly what I was looking for. I have made this recipe at least 4 times and have yet to find the correct cooking time. The middle just wont get done enough...the top browns and I'm afraid to let it go much further than 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPORTRESS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
The density was perfect, but the cake has no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
everything you would want from a cheesecake recipe, I made my first one as written, look forward to making many variations off this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Wonderful flavor! A big, beautiful cheesecake. I baked it a bit longer than in the recipe and chilled it for 24 hours and it still was too soft in the center, which made serving it a bit of a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROCKETMOMKD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
The first time I used this recipe and made no changes. I made two cheesecakes, one for my family and the other for my picky in-laws (including my mother-in-law who has no problem criticizing my cooking), and everyone loved it. The next time I made it, I used a recipe I found for graham cracker crust in place of the crust on this recipe. The graham cracker crust tasted a lot better and was easier to cut into than the other crust. As far as the cheesecake part is concerned, if you follow the directions precisely there is no reason why you shouldn't have a near-restaurant quality desert. It definately beats frozen cheesecakes, the kind you would make out of a box, or the kind you would buy in the supermarket bakery section. Very delicious and worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 456) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States