New York Cheesecake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I just made this after 2 consecutive cheesecake failures. It turned out perfectly!! I did not par bake the crust because I didn't have time to allow it to cool completely, and though it was not raw, it would have been better had I done that. I followed a couple other reviewers' suggestions and added vanilla (~2 tsp for me) and substituted sour cream for the heavy cream. I mixed the almost-room-temp cream cheese first to get it smooth, then beat in the sugar, flour, sour cream and vanilla. The final step was mixing the eggs in all at once by hand with a flat whisk. I sprayed the edges of the springform that weren't covered by the crust with cooking spray and had no cracking. It also separated from the pan perfectly. I was fearful of underbaking it because that was part of my problem with the others I tried and they seemed to take forever to bake (2 hours for a 9-inch!), so rather than lowering temp to 200, I lowered it to 225 F for 1 hour, and it was beautifully light golden and perfectly cooked! I'm not sure this makes a difference, but I live at over 5000 feet elevation. I served it with a blackberry coulis made from berries in my yard. It was very yummy! Thank you SO much for this recipe! It made my husband's birthday dinner very special. This will be my go-to cheesecake recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and it came out a big runny mess tastes fantastic though. Next time will cook longer, I stuck my first runny one in the freezer so hopefully it will thicken up! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Absolutely fantastic recipe. This was the third cheesecake recipe from all recipes. The other two were OK. But, if like us, you're a NY style cheesecake fan, then this is definitely the recipe to keep. The shortbread cruset was a huge hit with everybody. My 10" springform couldn't hold all of the mix tho. Ended up with around a cup and a third overfill. But I also added 3/4 cup of homemade blubbery jam for a swirl that turned out great. I was dismayed at the large crack on the top, but luckily it was close to the end of the cook so it didn't dry out the center. Don't be alarmed by the jiggly center. After refrigeration my cake turned out exactly as I'd hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kyoung6646
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Love this cheesecake! It's very popular when I bake it for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I skip the heavy cream and extra egg yolks for an even denser cake, and sometimes add a tsp of vanilla. Otherwise this is the same as my recipe that has pleased a lot of friends and family over the years. Thanks P.S. Don't miss the 2.5 pounds (5 packages) part of the recipe or you will not get cheesecake, more like a custard I would imagine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
AWESOME! this was the first cheese cake I erve did, and it came out great. Everyone loved it. I was proud of myself lol. And I didntb have to go crazy in the store finding what I needed to make it because i had everything here. Only one thing it didnt call for was vanilla extract and I did add that in. But try it try it try it lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I made this cheesecake today. It is the way I like cheesecake, it has a nice smooth texture and not dry. It is luscious and lovely topped with pineapple topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Labrador City, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Morden, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
As for everyone talking about the cheesecake cracking cheesecakes are very delicate. Moving ur cheesecake from the oven to the counter can crack it. Some ppl say dont over beat it ect. I beat my ingredients the hole time im adding everything together. Thats with every cheesecake recipe ive every made an ive made tons of cheesecakes I use a low speed of course. This is a beautiful recipe. I use reg vanilla and Madagascar vanilla in it and even vanilla beans. Also I top mine with burbon cherries. Or pineapples, peaches, strawberries caramel, ect. Its a great recipe. Ive also used different extracts with it rootbeer, lemon with lemon peel and orange. Thank you for submitting this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roszette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snyder, Texas, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Delicious. I made this for Christmas and it was a hit. Very easy to make, great flavor. I topped with some homemade Peach preserves my aunt gave me and whipped cream. Oh my it was fabulous! I did skip the shortbread crust as it was late when I made it and well I was feeling lazy so I just made a graham cracker crust :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
OMG I made this yesterday & took a couple pieces to the office & they loved it is the best recipe for cheese cake I have ever made, Love the Allrecipes site always checking for something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 459) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States