New York Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
The cheesecake was heavenly, the only thing I changed was the baking temp. and time as suggested in previous reviews. I baked the cake at 400° for 15 minutes, turned the oven down to 200° and let it bake for another 45 minutes, then I turned the oven off and left the door shut letting the cake rest in there for approximately three hours or until the oven was cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen & Bernie
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I made this for Bernie on Valentines Day. My first ever attempt and it was a triumph! I was worried we would have to freeze some because it was a lot. Worried for nothing because we ate all of it and it didn't take long. I did add vanilla and left out the 2 extra yolks. Thanks everyone for the very helpful tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen & Bernie
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dundalk, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Best cheesecake I've ever made! Dense, creamy, beautiful to look at and tasted like a dream. I made this for my husband's birthday and it was a hit! I substituted an Oreo crust and took many reviewers' advice to bake at 425 for 15 minutes, then lowered the oven temp to 200 for 45 minutes, then turned off the heat altogether and let it stay in the oven slowly cooling for another 3 to 4 hours. This is the first cheesecake I've make in a long time that didn't crack and remained intact for a beautiful presentation. The use of the sour cream keeps it lightly tart and not overly sweet. This wonderful recipe will be my go-to cheesecake from now on! Try it -- it will not disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Landeck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Loved it! So did my entire family! SO GOOD! SMOOTH AND CREAMY. We got cherry filling for it and hot fudge, caramel, and pecans for turtle. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy Pribel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Peterson
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
MY MOST FAVORITE CHEESECAKE EVERRRRRRRR!!!I have been making cheesecake for many years now and it was passed down by my Mom who is a queen at cheesecake and still makes them to give at Christmas time and New Year's to everyone as a gift of love with actual presents. Ssshh don't tell my Mom I said this is better than her's and that is saying A LOT!! I didn't use a spring form pan but a Keebler graham pie crust pan and changed is I used only 1/2 cup of sour cream and next time I will only use 1/4 cup to see if the taste is more sweeter, I also took the CDPEPPER proven true advice and baked it 400 degrees for 10 minutes then the remaining 45 minutes at 200 degrees, turned off oven and didn't open the door while I left it in there for an additional 1 1/2 before putting in the fridge overnight. What a difference. I had no cracks!!! Oh I didn't beat ingredients together for 10 minutes though just the normal 1-3 minutes. MHARMAN486 I wish I can shake your hand in person for such an excellent recipe that has changed the way I now do cheesecakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Easy & no cracks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Delicious! I topped with a blueberry and lemon topping and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northern Cambria, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This recipe was the most fabulous cheesecake I've ever made and, I've made plenty! I didn't make any changes in the ingredients but I did in the preparation. I lightly rubbed the sides of the pan with oil. I double foiled the bottom of the pan and put it in a water bath. When the center wobbled, I turned the oven off and opened the door and let it cool for 1 or 2 hours. Other hints are to NOT overmix. 10 min. is too long. I would mix on med. high just to blend in each ingredient - then 4 to 5 minutes to finish blending it. You do not want it "whipped", you want smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I didnt care at all for this cheesecake. I am sorry i didnt use 3 eggs for it. It wasnt creamy at all. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
It is very easy and time consuming. However, the top of my cheesecake cracked and i followed the instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States