New York Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Yum! This recipe is wonderful. It is by far the best that I've ever made, with a velvet texture and store bought looking topping. No cracks at all and only slightly more coloured on top, that looks like a light glazing - perfect. (no bain-marie required or pan of water below) As we don't have Graham Crackers in NZ - I used roundwine biscuits which are sweet - and didn't add the sugar to the base. I also added cinnamon to the base, which made it more interesting and tasted great. To lower the calories, I used low fat Philadelphia cream cheese, lite sour cream and Splenda (a sugar substitute) instead of sugar. As my partner is a big fam of lime cheesecakes - instead of vanilla, I substituted the zest and juice of 4 small limes and added a bit of extra Splenda to make the sweet/sour combination perfect. I also followed another members suggestion of baking it at 400 for 10min then 200 for 45min followed by leaving it in the oven for 3.5 hours then chilling it. We couldn't resist having a taste while it was still warm - it looked and tasted out of this world and was even better the next morning. Thank you for a recipe that will be a definate favourite from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I've used this recipe so many times. It's a winner with everyone who's tried it, and I use it as a base to experiment with. I've made Baileys cheesecake, chocolate cheesecake, peanut butter cup cheesecake... all turned out tasty! My suggestion if it cracks... smother it in whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hull, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I've been looking for a new NY cheesecake recipe and this is it! It was so creamy and yummy and done. The only changes to make are (as with other reviews): 400 degrees for 10 minutes then change to 200 degrees without opening oven and bake for 45-55 more minutes. It's not quite flavorful enough to stand on it's own. Using vanilla bean or some lemon zest would probably take it to the right level, but if you're planning on a topping then it's just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I have made this several times and everyone can't get enoguh of it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I was disappointed that this didn't provide enough filling for a 10 inch springform pan, resulting in a thin "whimpy" cheesecake instead of a thick and robust one. That being said - the flavor was tremendous! Next time I'll make a bit more filling than the recipe called for,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I make this all the time. Friends and family love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Excellent Cheesecake! We did make a few changes....We could not find our springform pan so we doubled the batch and made it in a 9 x 13 glass pan. We baked it at 400 for 10 minutes then turned down the temp to 200 at baked an additional 60 minutes. We then left it in the oven without opening the door for an extra 4 hours (until the oven was cool). We refrigerated it overnight then served it the next day. Absolutley delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Nice, easy cheesecake. The sour cream adds a pleasant tangy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coctilis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This cheesecake was easy to make and wonderful to eat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hot Springs, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Not a bad cheesecake, pretty close to the same recipe we use were I work. I used a vanilla bean in my mix because the flavour is more intense and I find the vanilla bean seeds add to the attactivness of the dessert. I also crushed up some shortbread in a food processor and used it as my base. Served with fresh sliced peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States