New York Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This is the first time I had ever baked a cheesecake and it turned out pretty good! I followed the variation directions and it turned out just as those directions said it would, however i didn't leave it in the fridge for a full 24 hours..but it was pretty much set by 16 hours. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Yum, yum, yum!! This was my first cheesecake try, and I'm so glad I came across this recipe! It's very good. The crust came out excellent! Followed the tips from previous reviewers about adding cinnamon to the graham crackers, adding a little fresh squeezed lemon juice, and breaking up the baking time (400 deg. for 10-15 min, 200 deg. for 45 min). Left all the ingredients out overnight to come to room temp, then whipped up the cream cheese first before adding anything to it at all. Didn't open the oven door at all till the oven cooled down completely, about 2 hours or so. Refrigerated the first one for a few hours, and will leave the second one in the fridge overnight. Absolutely perfect. No cracks, no air bubbles, so smooth and velvety. Yay! I can make cheesecake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This one really brings a lot of yum-yum noises with every bite. Many women have promised to marry me because of this recipe. I usually wait a full day before serving the cheesecake. It goes very well with a strawberry topping, or at least that's what the fans like. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Rock, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Yum! This recipe is wonderful. It is by far the best that I've ever made, with a velvet texture and store bought looking topping. No cracks at all and only slightly more coloured on top, that looks like a light glazing - perfect. (no bain-marie required or pan of water below) As we don't have Graham Crackers in NZ - I used roundwine biscuits which are sweet - and didn't add the sugar to the base. I also added cinnamon to the base, which made it more interesting and tasted great. To lower the calories, I used low fat Philadelphia cream cheese, lite sour cream and Splenda (a sugar substitute) instead of sugar. As my partner is a big fam of lime cheesecakes - instead of vanilla, I substituted the zest and juice of 4 small limes and added a bit of extra Splenda to make the sweet/sour combination perfect. I also followed another members suggestion of baking it at 400 for 10min then 200 for 45min followed by leaving it in the oven for 3.5 hours then chilling it. We couldn't resist having a taste while it was still warm - it looked and tasted out of this world and was even better the next morning. Thank you for a recipe that will be a definate favourite from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I've used this recipe so many times. It's a winner with everyone who's tried it, and I use it as a base to experiment with. I've made Baileys cheesecake, chocolate cheesecake, peanut butter cup cheesecake... all turned out tasty! My suggestion if it cracks... smother it in whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hull, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I've been looking for a new NY cheesecake recipe and this is it! It was so creamy and yummy and done. The only changes to make are (as with other reviews): 400 degrees for 10 minutes then change to 200 degrees without opening oven and bake for 45-55 more minutes. It's not quite flavorful enough to stand on it's own. Using vanilla bean or some lemon zest would probably take it to the right level, but if you're planning on a topping then it's just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I have made this several times and everyone can't get enoguh of it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I was disappointed that this didn't provide enough filling for a 10 inch springform pan, resulting in a thin "whimpy" cheesecake instead of a thick and robust one. That being said - the flavor was tremendous! Next time I'll make a bit more filling than the recipe called for,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I make this all the time. Friends and family love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Excellent Cheesecake! We did make a few changes....We could not find our springform pan so we doubled the batch and made it in a 9 x 13 glass pan. We baked it at 400 for 10 minutes then turned down the temp to 200 at baked an additional 60 minutes. We then left it in the oven without opening the door for an extra 4 hours (until the oven was cool). We refrigerated it overnight then served it the next day. Absolutley delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States