New York Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I am absolutely shocked with this recipe. I read about 50~ reviews and thought this would be a good recipe to make, but unfortunately it wasn't. The top burned after 20 minutes of baking and as soon as I stopped the 45 minutes of baking and opened the door to cool down, the cake dropped about 2 inches!!! And the worst thing is, I was trying this out for my friends, family and coworkers and I managed to scrape most of the burned-ness off but it was wayy too creamy and tasted like butter!! I'm sorry, but I'm not impressed with this recipe whatsoever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I absolutely love this cheesecake recipe! I made it for my boyfriend for Valentine's Day, and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was the best cheesecake I have ever made - that is from my husband. I made a couple little changes to the recipe based on some of the comments...I used Amaretto instead of vanilla - that was WONDERFUL! I baked the cheesecake in a preheated 400 degree oven for 10 minutes, turned down to 200 for 45 minutes and left it in the oven until cool. Then I put it in the refrigerator until after dinner. The only thing I would do differently, is bake it the night before and have it in the fridge over night and the whole next day. It was better the next day. But oh this was sinfully good! THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaElder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fontana, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Great recipe! Just be sure to not over beat the batter as that can cause cracks on top. I made three of these for a mother/daughter banquet and they all came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LA Homespun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
AWESOME says it all!!!! It is a thick cheesecake just like the ones in the deli :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by victoria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was my first attempt at making a cheesecake and it was PERFECT! After creaming the sugar and cream cheese with the mixer, I incorporated all the other ingredients by hand. I was planning on baking in a water bath until I realized I did not have any aluminum foil. So I baked it according to CDPEFFER's suggestion and it turned out GREAT! No crack, nice and creamy white on top and just a little "tan" on the sides. I also buttered my springform pan before pressing the crust in. All in all a great recipe! My husband loved it!! Said he would eat it plain (so would I, even though I usually like a berry on top) and he said it was better than what you would buy in the grocery store deli. I plan on keeping this recipe and making it for my mom! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Gotta be careful not to overcook, my family loved it but I had to scrape off the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.SugaCain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Wonderful recipe. I've tried making cheesecakes before but none have come out this well. I had people over for Thanksgiving dinner and they all loved it!! I took the advise in some of the other reviews like cooking it at 400 degrees for only 15 minutes and the remaining time at 200 degrees. Geat recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Coleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Loved this one! I did substitute almond extract for the vanilla. Delicious topped with raspeberrry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This recipe is wonderful! We had our neighbors over for dinner and everyone raved over this cheesecake. My husband actually said he would have thought I bought it if he hadn't seen me making it! We followed another reviewers recommendation regarding the cooking time; 400 degrees for 15 mins and then 200 degrees for 45. This is one is a keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States