New York Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving. My son requested it and it has been 15 years since I baked a cheesecake. I could not find my recipe and this one seemed the closest. It was a little bit to creamy, I like a firmer cheesecake. I think i use to large of pan. I followed the directions but I feel it needed to cook on a little longer. I also let it set overnight in the oven. My son love it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This recipe is amazing. I followed the instructions of CDPEFFER after reading the comments of another baker. I was worried it wouldn't set up, but it did. My husband is picky about sweets, I mean really picky. I saw his face when he took his first bite and knew this recipe was a keeper. The filling is creamy, smooth and just perfect! I used almond flavoring for a change, but will use the recipe as is and just swap out flavorings to suit the occasion. (Made it for Christmas dessert at my step-daugther's Christmas Day Dinner.) Don't be afraid to try this recipe for a special occasion without testing it first. It's absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
A very good basic cheesecake. I added lemon & orange zest and juice because I love a citrus flavor and bakes @ 425 for 20 minutes, then 200 for 40 and left in the oven overnight. Another day in the fridge and the texure was PERFECT. I did get a crack, but it was tiny, and I'm not willing to risk soggy crust with a water bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Following other suggestions, baked at 400 for about 15 minutes, 200 for 45; then let sit in oven a couple hours while oven cooled. Served with a rasberry sauce made simply by crushing raspberries, pressing through a strainer to remove seeds, adding a little sugar as desired. Received rave reviews at Thanksgiving dinner I brought it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
My 8 year old made this cheesecake and it turned out great! We used a traditional pie crust vs. true NY style, but it still came out perfectly. Easy to make and a treat to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
this has been one of the best recipes i have found simple fantastic i have been meking money with it jeje, not really awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I too am shocked with this recipe. It was the worst cheesecake I have ever made, or ever had at that matter – even if you throw the box mixes into the category. The crust burned, even on the bottom and the flavor of the cheesecake part was off. I strongly suggest trying a different cheesecake recipe, whoever finds this good hasn’t had good cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rVaughn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I am absolutely shocked with this recipe. I read about 50~ reviews and thought this would be a good recipe to make, but unfortunately it wasn't. The top burned after 20 minutes of baking and as soon as I stopped the 45 minutes of baking and opened the door to cool down, the cake dropped about 2 inches!!! And the worst thing is, I was trying this out for my friends, family and coworkers and I managed to scrape most of the burned-ness off but it was wayy too creamy and tasted like butter!! I'm sorry, but I'm not impressed with this recipe whatsoever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I absolutely love this cheesecake recipe! I made it for my boyfriend for Valentine's Day, and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was the best cheesecake I have ever made - that is from my husband. I made a couple little changes to the recipe based on some of the comments...I used Amaretto instead of vanilla - that was WONDERFUL! I baked the cheesecake in a preheated 400 degree oven for 10 minutes, turned down to 200 for 45 minutes and left it in the oven until cool. Then I put it in the refrigerator until after dinner. The only thing I would do differently, is bake it the night before and have it in the fridge over night and the whole next day. It was better the next day. But oh this was sinfully good! THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaElder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fontana, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States