New York Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I made this for my husbands birthday and everyone loved it. It was different than other cheesecakes that I have made in that it was more like the kind you get when you go out to a restaurant. I modified it a little by adding about a tsp lemon peel and 1 1/2 tsp orange peel for a nice citrus flavor, and I lined the springform pan with foil, then used 1 cup graham cracker crumbs and 1/2 cup ground walnuts and 5 Tbsp butter instead of the 6 and it turned out good. I also took the suggestion about the 400 degrees-I did it for 20 min, then turned the oven to 250 for the rest of the time and no prob with cracking. I am filing this to make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCapri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Great recipe. My husband says it's the best cheesecake he ever had. Not too sweet and very very easy. I love the trick of freezing the crust. (I cut the crust recipe in half.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
was easy to make everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This is very similar to the cheesecake recipe I received from a friend in 1981, written on the back on an envelope! Th only thing I do differently -- and not instructed by my friend -- is to separate the eggs and beat the whites until stiff. The yolks go in with the rest of the filling. I then fold the whites in until incorporated. A very light and fluffy cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg Shambo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guilderland, New York, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Hubby said, "Best Cheese Cake that he has ever ate!" He said it was lite and fluffy and not all sweet tasting. I decorated the top with a dark chocolate and had strawberry topping to put over it. Son ate it with with no topping and liked it. Daughter said it was good, but I could flavor it better (she's a tough critic). I personally thought it was easy to make and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA
Photo by alicia101584
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I just made this yesterday and my family just ate the last piece. Although it did crack in the middle, i covered it up with strawberrys. Also my crust was a little overdone. I did achieve the blonde color i wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicia101584

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Mineola, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This cheesecake is amazing. Cheesecake is my favorite desert as well as my sisters. One night I decided I would make this since my sister and her husband were coming over for dinner. One thing you should know is my sister is VERY picky, and she LOVED the cheesecake. I had alot left over and brought it into work and everyone is asking me for the recipe! I plan to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I've made this cheesecake several times for family get togethers and everyone raves about it. I don't change a thing. The worst part is that you have to let it sit in the oven so long and can't use the oven. But it's so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Outstanding!!! This is a basic recipe and it was very easy to follow. Very creamy, which is why you must let it set for 24 hours. I cheated and ate a tiny slice so I can taste it, it was devine. If you like a dense cake this one is not for you, but you have to try it. I added a little lemon zest to give it a little kick but other than that it rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I love cheesecakes and enjoy baking them. I've baked a few in my day but my problem was all tasted good but all of them cracked not matter what I did. I decided to give this one a try after reading reviews of women who said to bake at 400 degrees for 10 mins, than turn oven down to 200 degrees for 45 mins, and than without opening the dor to oven shut the oven off and leave in oven for a couple hours. I did this and for once I had a cheesecake that looked beautifull without a crack and tasted amazing. I drizzled caramel and chocolate over the top with a glass of cabernet wine, and thought I died and gone to heaven. Everyone said this was the best cheesecake yet. Baking it slow is the key to no cracks. No water bath needed for this cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States